hay day

Every year, about this time, the sun comes out and the farmers begin to cut hay.  Since Michigan is under snow for a good 4 months, we buy alfalfa grass in large bales to feed the herd through the winter. 

  We call up Mr. Hall down the road and say, “Hi!  We’re ready for hay!” And about 2 hours later, he shows up with a load of 18 bales of hay on a big semi-trailer. 

Curt, in a bobcat he borrowed from work and wants to keep but I will not let him because our child needs speech therapy before we need another machine, carefully centers the forks on the bale,

scoops it up,

and makes pretty lines of hay with it.  We need 40 bales for our little herd to chomp in the cold season.

Rylie’s job is to stand on the porch and re-enact the entire process about 42 times.  She’s very good at sound effects.  Actually, she rides in the bobcat a lot with Curt when he’s working/playing, but these bales are huge (5 feet round- or ‘fives’ as Mr. Hall says) and we didn’t want to take any chances.

The herd acts like it’s not excited, but they are.  They really are.

There have been 4 people in the last 2 weeks that have asked how long we’ve been farming.  The answer, as of today, is 2 years.  We’re just babies… and neither Curt nor I have any first-hand experience with this type of thing.  They’re always surprised and follow up with, “Well, but how do you know what to do?  I mean… well, how?”  The answer is simply we learn as we go.  We ask a million questions.  We humble ourselves and take advice from the farmers around us.  We make good friends.  We help when we can and we smile a lot.  This community is always happy to help and teach. 

You have to start somewhere.  We just picked something we had to start at the verrry beginning with.  We’ve made a few mistakes, certainly, but we’ve never been disappointed in our decision to start a small hobby farm.

If you could do anything… learn about anything… what would it be?  And, more importantly, what’s holding you back?

 

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

6 responses to “hay day

  • annie

    i’ve always loved pictures of round bales of hay. it’s so neat that rylie gets to see that and i love how she stands on the porch and does her job so well.
    it’s so great that ou guys just took to farming so well, you do seem like it’s been much longer than 2 years.
    hmmm? what i’ve always wanted to do is random, it would be to fly a plane. i just have always wanted to fly, maybe para sailing would be more feasible, haven’t thought about that in a long time.

  • estef

    isaac loves playing with his little barn right now and his way of saying “hay” sounds so hick! it’s hilarious. he stretches it into about 3 syllables. i think he would have a great time with Ry on the farm.

  • Margie

    Love the little paragraph about Curt – Hubby here is the same way (I know I don’t NEED this tool, but…), and I can’t believe how tall Rylie looks in the picture. I hope she’s not a teenager by the time I actually get to meet her.

    If I could do anything, I’d be an Indigo Girl – singing acoustic songs with a guitar and mike, and riding around the country in a big bus. I think it’s fairly obvious, though, what’s holding me back from that dream. Oh, and the voice is starting to go.

  • LoLo

    If I could do anything, I would be a personal chef….wait a second… I already am, to 1 adult and 2 children. Except it isn’t quite like I’d imagined it :). My employer isn’t rich and doesn’t like to eat crazy exotic foods from far away places. It’s more like “what exactly is in this sauce?…it smells kind of funny…I thought we could just have hot dogs or something”.

  • beckyswann

    I have always wanted to be a rock star:) Nothings holding me back I am a rock star:) haha
    All that hay just makes my eyes itch, so I am glad I can enjoy the simple beauty of your farm from an alergy safe distance

  • marie

    you guys are crazy awesome. I looove it.

    I have eternally hated that question… if you could do anything… because I haven’t the foggiest clue. no deep-seated dream, itch under the skin, nothing. I blame my parents for saying I could be anything I wanted and then giving me the freedom to be 😛

    but my friends who DO have dreams, and chase after them with all their hearts and energy, regardless of what the outside world may think or say, THAT inspires me and gives me hope. 🙂

talk to me

