project 1.0

Things seem to be slowing down out there in Reading and Comment Land.  I’m going to keep going.  I’m going to chalk it all up to summer and breezing in and out and sunshine… and we’re going to pretend I’m just as funny and engaging as I was before this second child sucked all the life out of me.

My Rylie Girl is a big fan of skirts.  In a world where she cannot fully express herself verbally, dressing herself has become a huge accomplishment. I encourage it.  It’s hard to dress a child using only one hand when your other hand is over the mouth of a 3 month-old Screamer.  We’ve left the house in some pretty awesome combinations, but she’s Three and can get away with fashion-murder right now. Mostly, we just aim for similar colors.

If you find yourself with some knit shirts around that you just can’t bare to part with, a Kiddo Skirt is a fabulous option.  It couldn’t be easier.

This pink shirt first made its appearance on Day 2 of Rylie’s life. I love this photo.  I love my hair here- I want it back. I digress.   As hormones and another child would have it, this shirt just doesn’t fit right anymore.  Too baggy here, too tight there… but it has this super soft pink lining inside and a cute little print on the outside.  I didn’t want to add it to the landfill, so I simply cut it off under the bust line and sewed some 1/2″ elastic into the top. The bottom was already hemmed, thanks to the original seamstress in China.  Total time: about 20 minutes. Pretty instant gratification, and I’m all about that these days: easy, fast, cute.

Do you see Ry’s face in this photo to the right?  Doesn’t she look like she’s about 8 years-old?  I’m kind of choking right now.

Imagine what you could do with your old New Kids On the Block t-shirts.  Mmmmm Hmmmm. You could have a New Coolest Kid On the Block!

 

Say cheese 🙂

[photo gallery • click to emBIGen]

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

22 responses to “project 1.0

  • Mr chris

    My dear i still read, i check it out through my blog tracker thing so it doesn’t take me directly to your page so i don’t know if it shows that i stopped by. I’ve been on a commentary drought lately. I’ve hit a wall where i feel like all of MY blog posts are all deep and serious and my comments on others sites always tend to be funny (i think) and sarcastic. I’ve been trying to figure out whythat is and didn’t want to annoy you. I give you my word you’ll be hearing from me 😉

  • Heather

    I am still reading! Sorry I have been slacking on comments. I love the skirt! You will have to show me how to put that elastic into a old shirt. I would love to make my girls some skirts. 🙂

  • The Fabulous SoChi Life

    Oh you who are sew crafty. Sewing causes me seam-stress.

  • Jessica

    Would you believe, as I am sure you would and sorry to make yet another comparison, Myron was just saying the other day “looks like you arent getting as many comments these days!! Boys. I understand though and for themost part dont take it personal. I know that those who truly love us are still keeping up! Two kids makes it harder on both ends!!!

    love love love skirts. Rylie Jayne must wear a dress everyday now. I thinkk they should start a line….

  • Susannah

    I love that first pose (and the skirt). Where do kids get these ideas of how to behave in front of the camera? My daughter has decided that she must almost completely scrunch her eyes closed while she gives me her biggest fake grin. I probably laughed the first time she did it, and now we can’t get a normal picture of her…

  • Ellen

    Still reading, still reading! Cute shirt and now skirt, I love her wispyy little hairs! And, I choked with laughter as I read about your other hand being over the mouth of your screaming little boy 🙂

  • Cathy

    I read! Oh I love the pics of Ry. I like the first one too, yes she does look like she is 8. I have to say, she is a sweetheart.

  • Carley

    I’m still reading too… sorry…
    Love the photo of you and Rylie. Your hair is really cute there.
    Very cute shirt/skirt idea!
    Love the one handed comment! = )

  • mvstephenson

    Super cute skirt! You are just as intersting as before Gus, promise!

  • mc phillips

    oh my, that is so cute! there is almost nothing better than being able to make something great out of an old favorite. I love this!! ..and I’m definitely still reading. i don’t miss a post.

  • Miss Chris

    A couple notes:

    Looks like a crazy scrape on Ry-girl’s leg in one of those photos! I always hated skinning my knees when I was small. Ouch!

    Also, I just wanted to tell you… I totally love your hair in basically all the photos you post of yourself. You have such GREAT texture! My hair is crazy pin-straight so I’d love to have a little wave every now and again. Grass is always greener, I suppose. Anyway, just wanted to tellyou… it’s always funny to me when you say things like in your last post, “Excuse my hair”… because I love it! 🙂

  • Abbie

    I am your stalker… I never post because I’m afraid I’ll scare you by how much I love you.

    P.S. Love the skirt idea. I too have a few girls (3 to be exact) who love, love, LOVE skirts. They too are always paired with terrible shirts, but really, who cares? I should post pictures of my two daughters in dresses we affectionately call their “polygamist attire”. Ridiculous!

  • Jim B

    I find in retirement I don’t get to the blogs as early or anything else for that matter, and I to go thru Bloglines so perhaps I stay hidden. But how would all of us survive without your wit. PS That girl can sure make a camera sing…

  • jtp

    LOVE the skirt idea…..

  • Tricia

    I’m one of those pathetic people who checks for blog updates multiple times a day… so definitely still reading! As for commenting, I hold back; wondering if it’s too weird to jump right in and be all familiar, since I haven’t seen you in half our lifetimes…. I hope the answer is no? 😉

  • beckyswann

    The summer does slow down the blog world, but you haven’t lost us we might just be at the pool:)
    LOVE the skirt, I love when clothes get recycled. It makes me weirdly happy for them, like they got a second chance in the fashion world

  • Zoe

    i am also still reading 🙂

  • Julie

    You are so crafty! I love that skirt.
    And I think I speak in my comments for most of my family who also read your blog.

  • Julie

    should that be “reads”? I can’t decide. Yeah, most should be the subject.

  • annie

    amazing. the things you come up with are just awesome.
    wish you all could come hang out at the pool with us in black mountain.

  • Sunday Grant Photography

    yes please come to the pool and hang out with us here in the mountains. we would love it! i am still reading but usually from my ipod and it is hard to comment on that thing! but i love you and think you are hysterical!

talk to me

