shortie

Saturday was an amazing day.  The promised rain never came, the sun was hot, and the shade was heavenly.  At 3pm, 30 strangers pulled up into my driveway with crockpots full of chili and said, “Howdy!” and I knew Texas had come to Michigan for the afternoon.

The West Michigan Aggies came to TexasNorth for a little relaxation… a few yard games, a wagon ride, a lesson in cow confirmation, and a lot of food.  My venison chili took 2nd place, thank you! I honestly believe I would have won the whole thing had not the winner had 8 children on her side.

I’ve lived in Michigan now for almost 8 years, but Texas will always be home.  And folks from Aggieland, well, they will always be family.  There is something about that school that makes alumni instantly friends, especially when far from campus.  I’ve never hesitated to approach a stranger wearing the tell-tale gold ring… in Germany, in Zeeland, in Meijer.  The accents got a little deeper as the evening wore on and we talked about how we’d ended up in Belding… or Lansing… or Hudsonville… Battle Creek… or SE Grand Rapids.  There were lots of Little Ags running around, too… all sporting their expected graduation date, as good Aggies do. I’m Katie, Class of 1999.

It was nice to find a little bit of home.  I have been missing it somethin’ awful.

Do I know where you went to school?

 

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

23 responses to “shortie

talk to me

