the question is

Do I still have children?  Or, more specifically, am I going to update about them?

Why, yes.  Y’all are so sweet. 

The two kids are still here. 

Still makin’ noise.

Rylie is 3 1/2… and when trying to think about how to describe life with her, this is the story I keep coming back to:

Rylie and I go shopping for a dresser for Gus.  I am 14 months pregnant.  Rylie and I go to the antique store that I love… lots of little things, lots of primitive stuff, lots of basic furniture.  It’s a  fun place to kill some time.  There is a hallway from one room to another that is glass shelving (cue ominous music), but I calmly remind Rylie of our One Finger Rule.  In the movie rental place: one finger.  In the grocery store: one finger.  In the antique shop: one finger.  Look, love, point, and maybe even touch… but with One. Finger.  It works well for us.  Occasionally, I have to yell, “ONE FINGER, RYLIEEEEEE!” but in general, it works.  As I am checking out the bones of a dresser, I am approached by two college students.  They want to know if they can pray for me. I immediately turn red with embarrassment.  I say, “No thank you, but I appreciate your heart.”  A bit flustered, I return my attention to the dresser.  Rylie has wandered away… into the hallway.  The owner comes to tell me of the wonders of the dresser.  This dresser, it seems, is the answer to all my problems and there is none like it to be found anywhere else in the world. Rylie is crouching down, peering at the bottom shelf.  My phone rings and it is Curt asking me to send pictures before committing to anything that costs more than our mortgage.  Rylie is reaching out her ONE FINGER. 

And then I hear it:  *plink* plink* plink*

More.  *plink* plink* plink*

And more. !PLINK! PLINK !PLINK!

For Rylie, you see, has found an antique toy piano… prolly from Napoleon’s time or equally valuable… and is using her ONE FINGER to give me a heart attack.

The owner looks at me, completely serious, and says, “I’d prefer children not play with that.”  To which I respond, “Perhaps those two folks over there can pray for you.”

And that, in a large nutshell, is our life these days. 

Boundaries and funny-ness and prayer.

Gus Man… well, what more needs to be said than he loves his prunes?  He’s 5 months.  He’s still nursing twice a night.  Still struggles to fall asleep on his own.  Is tolerating the car seat better.  Is 14 pounds.  Is ridiculously cute and has a killer smile.  Someday I will sleep again and I will be a different person. A different mother.  A different friend.  A different wife.  And, that person will be beautiful and her eyes will be wide open and her hair will be combed.  But for now, we have moved on to a new phase in life beyond the Newborn Fog and I am thankful

I love my children.  I was born to be their mom.  I have never been so happy and so tired and so certain in all my life.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

12 responses to “the question is

  • Jessica

    Sweet Happiness….it only continues to get better and ridiculously more fun!!

  • Kim Aguilar

    Love the “one finger” rule! So much sweeter than the “DON’T TOUCH ANY-THING!” that I’m constantly screaming at the top of my lungs. 🙂

  • Amanda

    I really like reading about your kiddos, but I *loved* reading that you wouldn’t let those college kids pray for you.

    *funny*

  • beckyswann

    Ha I love that story! thanks for the kiddo update, and the one finger rule that we are using from now on, what a simple way for them to understand.
    I asked those two college kids to pray for you to get some sleep soon, you don’t have to thank me:)

  • Carley

    Love the update! The one finger rule is just plain awesome! Thanks for that little tip!

  • annie singletary

    what a sweet post. hilarious about the piano, i love what you said to back to the sales lady.
    gus is amazing. he has gotten so big and looks like a little boy and not a baby. those prunes and nursing are doing their job!
    o the newborn fog, not excited about that. glad you are seeing the other side of it.

  • mc phillips

    love it. love it. love it. love it! So Gus has moved on to prunes already? Wow. Harper’s mama needs to get with it and broaden the menu a bit (we just began rice cereal this week)!

  • Sunday

    i have to bring up that i have noticed a lack of commenting on my blog by one TexasNorth, but I will continue to power through and we will get over this blog slump! I love hearing your stories. They help me start my mornings! I think my mouth would still be open and speechless!

  • Julie

    Great story! I may have to try the one-finger rule too. You will get to sleep again and you’ll be so grateful when that happens! Until then, I feel for you. Sleep is important.

  • Amy L

    I’m wondering if I should try and change my philosophy on stores – One finger sounds slightly enticing although I’m not sure that the kids would agree nor change their approaches. Don’t you love how so much is demanded of you at ONCE! It’s a juggling act most days. I can only handle 2 stores with the kids because I’m sick of hearing myself yelling, reminding, scolding, reminding, whispering loudly, scolding, etc. at children who have lost their hearing.

  • Margie

    Thank goodness it was only prunes. Was worried, at first glance, it was chicken pox (which E experienced at 6 mos and flummoxed the pediatrician).

    One finger is good. I think I’ll borrow it for my kids…

talk to me

