making things pretty

Reminder • canning/preserving swap recipes are due from anyone and everyone by Monday the 20th. More details can be found here.

So, it’s time to decorate this Shoebox a bit.  Young Life has made me into a large vintage item person… you know, the house that hangs a wagon from the ceiling or multiple chairs or old hay forks.  I love that look… but it takes awhile to accumulate things.   Here’s the awkward space above my kitchen cabinets: 

my Great Gramma Sebeck’s wash tub, drive in and closed signs from the red barn project, my Grandpa Sebeck’s fan from the 40s, a pound scale, and old crock, an old chicken feeder, an old egg scale from my parents, a vintage set of mini wooden bowling pins and ball, my old Fisher Price giraffe that’s too fragile to be ridden anymore even though Ry asks every blessed day, a red lantern from Target, a silver lantern that was a wedding present 

Curt is much more of an art/picture person; I’m a quote person… I love words on paper, but that’s not always Hang It In Your House type of art, ya know?   I spent some hard-earned money on etsy the other day and am waiting for these prints to arrive:

 

The Joy 8×10 will go in Ry’s room.  Is it not the most perfect thing you’ve ever seen?  The Texas print and Michigan print (not pictured) will go above our bed… on appropriate sides.  And the home print will go next to our wood stove in the living room/kitchen/dining room.  [clicking on the photos will take you to the shops that carry them]

I’m so ridiculously excited for this place to start taking on its own personality.  Not that it doesn’t already have one… I mean, there are chickens running rampant outside and a cat sitting on top of the fence.  But inside, the walls are a little bare. There’s a deer here, a deer there, and a few family photos in our bedroom.  Not much else.  Time for CHANGE! 

What’s on your walls? 

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

10 responses to “making things pretty

  • Amy B.

    Very timely question for me as I enter into that last phase of moving into a new house – putting stuff on the walls. We don’t really need anything new; it’s just a matter of placing what we have. We have a few paintings done by family members and artwork collected from our travels – domestic and abroad.

    The challenge I’ve issued myself, though, has to do with family photos. I have SO MANY stinkin’ photo frames and I’m tired of the clutter. So I’m coming up with different ideas for displaying them and chunking the frames. My favorite so far: hanging a pretty wooden curtain rod (a leftover) on our bedroom wall and suspending photos (protected by a photo sleeve) from thin dainty wires with clips at the end.

  • Jessica

    So perfect!!! I love the house one. super super cute idea on the states! yer so clever!

  • Miss Laura

    But where are the deer’s LEGS?

  • Amy L

    My question – can the deer be decorated? Cause that might spruce it up a bit too.

  • Tricia

    I’m with Amy… the deer needs twinkle lights.

    The Joy print is incredibly sweet– and perfect for any age.

  • Wende

    I feel you! I’m finally moved into the new studio and it’s amazing… however, it could use some “decorating”. The pillow maker has no pillows or art or anything pretty to make the space special.

  • Bec

    What’s on my walls, you ask? Well, my FAVORITE thing on my wall – and I do not lie to you – is the canvas in the barn frame that you made me. I’m not terribly sure of the year, but there’s a tiny little “ks” up in the corner. Do you remember it, the one that says “but,she is most beautiful in tears”

    I LOVE IT and always will. If I have a little girl one day, it will live in her room.

    PS – I am in Texas right now. Yep. Austin. I love you!

  • Chris

    Oh my word. Oh my WORD. I just absolutely love that Texas print. I clicked on it and I love the Michigan one, too. And I also thought you should know that there is a girl in my grad cohort from Texas. She’s TX-born but she also went to Baylor for her undergrad. And I’m thinking it’s no mistake that she and I connect very well. It is nice to be understood, and we see eye to eye on many things. Texas-Michigan camaraderie is the best.

    Thanks for sharing the prints! 🙂

  • Margie

    I love those new things for your walls. You know, our walls – our entire house – are one of those marriage compromises no one tells you about before the deal is sealed. I wanted the house to be uniquely ours; he wanted it to resemble a catalogue. The rule we’ve cobbled together over the years is this: He gets to pick, but it’s something he’ll think I’ll like. I let him pick, but have the final up/down say. In the end, we both get what we can live with.

    And I must say, the house looks way better than anything I could have done alone. He has (most of the time) good taste!

talk to me

