farmin’

Fall is here, my friends.  Pumpkins are ready, cornstalks are tied to the porch columns, and the Hayride date has been set (October 23).  I loooove Fall.  Love it. Love the leaves changing, love Thanksgiving, love the cool nights.

Fall is also the time when all the single ladies return from the longhorn dating pasture and take up residence on OUR farm again… which leads me to this little story:

The day my finger was re-shaped by our neighbor’s horse, a package showed up on our doorstep.  How?  I’m not sure.  I’m not sure how the UPS man managed to navigate our swamp mudhole of a road, but he does know we love our packages.  I’m sure he was swinging from his open door, that’s for sure.

I was still in shock from being bit, carrying Gideon the Chunk, and stopping to admire every. single. rock. along the path back to our house oh my GOSH RYLIE keep moving.  Rylie shifted gears when she saw the brown box on the porch.  Poor thing… thinkin’ PapPap had sent her more candy.  She went immediately to our silverware drawer and returned with the small paring knife I always grab when opening packages.  Nice.  I asked her to move slowly… last thing I needed was another person missing a finger around here.

We opened the box.  Rylie all-but crawled inside.  She emerged with both hands up in the air as if to say, “What is this?  No candy?”  I was equally confused.  The super-light box seemed to be stuffed with white paper and nothing more.  UNTIL.  I dug deeper (with my left hand) and found a funny little thing you plug in.  And then you wait a second.  And then you set it on some wood.  And then it catches fire (Seriously, is there NO END to the danger in my life?). And then you turn it off.  And you are left with this:

Our brand.  Our TexasNorth cattle brand came.  TX for Texas and the arrow pointing North(East) in the direction of Michigan.  This will be the first Fall we brand any of our cattle, as this is the first year the cattle born actually belong to US.  It’s kind of exciting.  I have never branded cattle before, and we won’t be doing it alone… our longhorn breeding friends are going to show us the ropes so that we don’t hurt any cattle or ourselves in the process.  Who’d of thought 5 years ago I’d be getting ready for a branding party?  Not me.  Of course, at one time I expected to be touring with the cast of Wicked as a chorus girl, so don’t go by me.

Take a moment to read this article this weekend.  I do very much believe in wholesome, organic, local, and happy food.  But, sometimes, labels are simply words.  You do not know anything about your food unless you know your farmer.   Be educated, Friends.

And, finally, I’m putting in a short order for some more TexasNorth ringer tees again at the beginning of the week ($14 or $19 with shipping).  If you missed out on Round 1 and want in, just let me know!

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

5 responses to “farmin’

  • Renee

    I love fall tooooooo! Wish we were closer for the hay ride. Can you order an adult small t-shirt for Kylie? Thank you!

  • beckyswann

    fall at your place seems like the way to go!

  • Jim

    Yes I to love fall. Heat is not my thing, and I so love the colors on the lake. Local is great and getting better, but hard in large metro area like Det. An idea why don’t you and curt move a little east?
    We have our 23 hotel n go North plan so if weather permits see u and yours shortly, cant wait to meet ur local friends.

  • steph

    not sure i could brand…but i love the brand! at the farmer’s market down the road the other day, i noticed a Dr. Pepper cake mix. not sure if it’s organic, but i’m pretty sure it’s local! the lady at the store told me it’s really good. send me some eggs and i’ll make it!

  • Margie

    Oh, wow. The brand is EXTREMELY cool. And so perfect. And getting packages is So Much Fun.

talk to me

