stories

The Mulder family (that’s us) headed 8 hours South Friday to St. Louis for a family wedding.  My cousin was getting married and word was there was gonna be a party.  I took 1 photo the entire time.  It’s hard to take photos when there are so many people to hug.  Blog, meet Gus and his cousin Laila- sleeping off some serious dancing at the reception.  And, I mean that.  They are AT THE RECEPTION, in the back corner of the American Legion hall snoozing in a broken playpen while we YMCA-ed.

Actually, there was no YMCA-ing.  But, there was a photo booth.  And, thank goodness for that or I’d have only Gus and Laila to speak for the entire weekend. [This photo strip counts for last’s week’s portrait photo and this week’s portrait.  Thank you.]

Curt and I will be married 6 years in one month.  It’s hard to believe we are well on our way to writing our own story.  I spent a lot of time this weekend looking at my family… my enormous family that is so very close, even across the miles.  There were books and books of stories sitting side•by•side in that church.  Stories of war and drought.  Of cancer and hurt and booze.  Of lost jobs and heartbreak.

But in those same books, among those very same characters, I have never heard more laughter.  I have never seen more honesty, more hope, or more loyalty.  We are all so very much family… and all our broken pieces fit perfectly together when push comes to shove.  We are an amazing family.  So fun, and absolutely tough as nails. 

Aimer’s wedding was the beginning of a new chapter, a continuation of one story, and the middle of yet another.  We’re all mixed in there somewhere.  We all celebrated, and it was good.  It takes all those stories and all those characters and all those years to make a party a -celebration-. 

• • • • •

My parents took Rylie Girl back to Texas with them for the week.  Please excuse me while I take the rest of this week to sew and decorate and edit and make applesauce and go to stores I am not allowed to with a sticky 3.75 year-old.  Gus is hours away from crawling, and there are a few things that need to happen before my life is officially over.

I’ll be back Monday next with a whole new spring in my step.  Hope your weekend was fabulous.  Love you.  *Mwah*

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

15 responses to “stories

  • Amy B.

    My Gideon’s napped in a pack-n-play in the basement of a Knights of Columbus hall before.

    Is this the first time Rylie’s gone home with the parents without you?

    Enjoy!

  • texasnorth

    It’s not… Ry has gone with my parents for a week at a time ever since she was a year old. This is actually the SECOND week this year that our travelling has overlapped and allowed this to happen. Curt has to be in Oklahoma Wednesday through Saturday, so they’ll switch again this weekend. So fun. For all of us.

  • beckyswann

    way to be a great sleeper at that wedding Gus! What a cool idea to have a photo booth! that is so fun
    Enjoy your week!
    Always love your stories

  • Amy L

    Nice thoughts on family. I share your sentiments on family and enjoyed the read this morning. I’m not so eloquent with the words. Enjoy the break and here’s hoping you get as MUCH done as you can!!

  • Renee

    Yes, Yes, Yes! Sew and craft ’til your heart is content. We head to the apple farm on Friday to stock up and start on applesauce. Just duct tape Gid to the floor if he even thinks about trying to crawl this week. Have fun!

  • janna

    aahhhhh—rylie’s so close i can almost touch her! i just tried to reconfigure theu.s. map so austin would be on the way from oklahoma, but it didn’t work.

  • kateohkatie

    Ooh you were in St. Louis? Wish I’d known – I’d have tried to bribe y’all to come over for lunch or something! 🙂

    Enjoy your “break”/”R’nR”/”free-time”!

  • Jessica

    did your brother havea baby too??

    Well I of course mean his wife but you know….

  • Chris

    I’m sorry this doesn’t have to do with this post topic, but those ARE mighty cute photos up there. 🙂

    So I clicked on the right in your Tag cloud on the one that says “conversations”, because, let’s face it, those are some of my favourite posts of yours. As I was reading some older ones, I came across your cute little elephant-cut-out-of-the-crust pot pies, and I was wondering: if I make them ahead of time without baking, and I just freeze them, what’s the best method to cook them later? Like should you defrost the whole thing and then bake it? Or can you just bake them right out of the freezer, and if that’s the case, then does the temp of the oven change or the length of time they’re in the oven?

    Okay, sorry to bring that one back, but with winter coming I am super excited to make these cuties and pop them in the freezer… and then the oven. 🙂 Thanks!

    • texasnorth

      This is a fabulous question 🙂 I freeze it and then thaw it completely in the fridge before baking it. Now, I BELIEVE you can go straight to the oven from the freezer, but you’d have to adjust you time (not your temperature) and protect the crust with foil. This increases your risk of Soggy Crust Syndrome, however. I say, pull it out the night before and throw it in the fridge.

      Anyone? Yes?

      • LoLo

        According to the “Make Ahead Chicken Pot Pies” recipe that I use from Cook’s Illustrated (which i think gets everything right), they say to pull out of freezer, arrange on rimmed baking sheet, brush crust with beaten egg, cover with foil, and bake 40 minutes at 400F. Then uncover and bake until crusts are golden brown, about 35 minutes. Let pies rest about 10 minutes before serving.

        Not sure how this compares to your recipe, but it works for me. They also suggest use a thicker crust for the top, which seems to work. If you use store bought crust, then “glue” two pieces of dough together w/ a beaten egg to make a double-thick crust for the top.

        That’s my 2-cents.

  • Margie

    Katie – this one brought tears to my eyes. The whole writing our own story thing, the family fitting together, the picture of the babies in the broken Pack N Play (what’s up with that? that happened to us, too, and we finally had to return it to WM, realizing, at last, that the problem wasn’t Us). Just read “The Middle Place” by Kelly Corrigan and loved, loved, loved it. It’s all about family. Think you would love it, too. And really get it.

    Can I just say that my parents have never kept my child/children? Not that I’m bitter, but, gosh. I guess that comes with the having-children-when-you’re-older territory. I know you’ll enjoy your time, but also know you’ll be hugging her like crazy when she’s back. Works that way, doesn’t it?

  • Chris

    Thanks! You guys are the best! Whenever I finally make these I will have these freezer-to-oven or freezer-thawing-to-oven directions written down. Can’t wait! 🙂

talk to me

