*drum roll*

And, the winner of the

Winter Knit Hat Keep You Warm in ALL Kinds of Weather Give-Away is… MANDI!  Who will need a winter hat to keep warm when her in-laws kick her out of the house for breaking their appliances 🙂  You can come live with me. (The accounting firm of Curtis J. Mulder affirms that this was a legal and legitimate random drawing.)  Wooo hooo!  Mandi, let me know what general size you are looking for and I’ll get that out to you as quick as… well, who am I kidding. 

I’ll send it out sometime this week.

People.  There’s a stomach bug going around.  My little Rylie caught it.  You know what it’s like for an almost-4 year-old with low muscle control and who’s barely potty trained to have a stomach bug?  It’s not pretty, I can tell you that much.

I’ll keep the details to a minimum, but let’s just say there was a Pull-Up Explosion early one morning last week.  And let’s say it happened after The Father headed to work.  And let’s say The Rylie Girl was mortified and crawled up on my bed and cried… because she felt gross and she was gross and she didn’t know what to do.  How do you get messy footie pjs off a four year-old?  

Let me be honest: I was not 100% awesome.

I should have taken her to the bath tub and done everything there.  Instead, I started on our bed… and everything went really really well until there was one little spot that got away from me.  And so I wiped it up/cleaned/rinsed the spot and then I took Ry to the bath and poured bubbles in and tried to make life better.  Life ensued.  I forgot all about the poo.

Two days later, Curt notices The Spot on (his side of) the sheets. 

boy: What is this?  Is this POO?!

Oh my word.  Yes.  It’s poo. Ry had an accident.  

boy: It’s POO?!

That happened on Thursday!  You’re obviously fine.  Chill.

boy: I’ve been sleeping on POO!

No.  Come on.  You’ve been sleeping on CLEAN poo.

I’ve got more laundry to do. 

See you Thursday. 

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

22 responses to “*drum roll*

  • Jessica

    awww sweet girl. and you too of cousre..

  • Susannah

    You’re on quite a roll lately- laundry explosions, child explosions. But what really kills me is that he asked if it was poo… Has this happened before?!?

    • texasnorth

      It has not happened before… usually his side of the bed is completely safe. MY side, on the other hand… well. You moms know how that is. Baby stuff, kleenex, formula… and all kinds of other things end up over there and on to the sheets. I just can’t change the sheets every day! I can’t! I can’t!

  • Cathy

    boy: I’ve been sleeping on POO!

    Hilarious! Although I don’t think Curt does.

  • Grace

    Poor girl. It’s so hard when the have an accident like that and they feel so bad about it. My son STILL talks about the time it happened to him at an amusement park. 😦

  • Mandi

    Yay, yay, yay! I won, I won, I won! That NEVER happens! I don’t even know where to begin on size, but I think I’d like a baby-ish size to save for our new little one for next winter, because Gus is a crazy-good salesman! So, no rush on getting it to me! 🙂

    I’m so sorry the tummy bug has found you guys! I hope Ry feels better soon and that the rest of you don’t catch it. And I hope Curt gets over his poo-induced trauma. If dads had any idea what moms get all over themselves in the regular course of a day, they would probably die…and never touch us again!!

    • texasnorth

      I have the perfect hat for you 🙂
      Curt has and will continue to survive. But, I think you’re right. I’m keep most of our accidents and spill-ages and gross-ness to myself!

  • Julie

    Oh the stomach bug. Barf. yuck. I remember having the kids throw up in bowls by their beds when they were very little. Gross, yes, but better than trying to get them to the toilet.

    BTW, bot it was great to hang out finally! Sorry I drank too much wine and got a little too chatty. I think our song sounded great though. I wish we could have made a video and practiced just a little more. Your voice is incredible!!! After we raise these babies, let’s get with Becky and go out on the road as a killer folk singing trio. 🙂

    • texasnorth

      Do not even joke with me, Julie Harrison. Any time you need back up on the road and Becky’s sick, I AM THERE.

      I didn’t notice that you were extra chatty… I was too busy taking it all in and having a good time. Man, it was good to sit in a room all night with all of you. Really really good.

  • Renee

    I am truly sorry that Ry is/was sick but you just made my morning with your story. I am having the longest week ever, well, now its more than a week so it is feeling really long sooo I just laughed and laughed. It made my day!

  • Kim Aguilar

    Is it bad that I’m laughing hysterically? Clean poo. That’s a good one.

  • beckyswann

    sunday told me to use beach towels when Ellen had that business going on. I was putting them everywhere!
    Also I’m ready to hit the road, say the word julie and I’m outta here…if it was only really that easy:)
    Great to meetcha the other day

  • LoLo

    I have to confess that once when Amelia had a bug she threw up so many times one night that I ran out of clean sheets. By about 4am i discovered ANOTHER mess in the crib and I just put a clean towel down over it all, wiped the chunks off the pjs and layed her back down to sleep on top of it all. SERIOUSLY BAD MOM MOMENT!!!

  • Margie

    Stomach bug. Yes. Chunks. In tight pj’s that had to be pulled over Sarah’s head to get them off. Even though moms are supposed to have iron stomachs, I didn’t – I was working awfully dang hard not to gag to obviously badly and throw up myself when I saw the mess in her hair. Then I had to rinse the pj’s off outside before putting them in the washer, and it was then that I lost it.

    Hubby’s the Hazmat guy over tee-tee. I can’t even let him see poop – the house would be so overly disinfected it would kill us, too.

talk to me

