a new love

Hands down, my favorite part of this blog is the stories you tell me in the comments.  I love them.  Y’all are so cute.

Alrighty…

Shall we talk about the website that is making sense of my life right now?  Organzing all those links I find during my 5 minute spurts of internet searching… recipes, clothes, knitting projects, bedroom remodel, etc. etc?  It’s Pinterest.  Simply, it lets you grab a photo (and the link) off the web and pin it on a board.  All those links and all those photos… all in ONE PLACE.  *le sigh*

[Megan wrote a great starter’s guide HERE.]

Pinterest, for me, is a place to catalog all those someday projects, house things I love, books to read, and random ideas.  It certainly CAN be one more thing to eat your life away, but I really find that it’s less about who’s following you / who’s repinning you / how cool your stuff is and more about “Ok. Remember this.  Fantastic idea for Ry’s birthday in 6 months.” It’s WAY less social and more functional in my book.  Board.  Whatever.

Since you can pin with the bookmark without being ON the actual site, I don’t HAVE to spend hours looking at all the other things folks are pinning.  But, um, sometimes I do.  Because other people have Birthday Boards, too.  And some of the stuff on there is perfect!

Let’s say… Father’s Day.  I see something brilliant while I’m catching up on blogs, I click my little pinterest bookmark thingy, and it snags the link and photo and pins it on my Father’s Day board.  Then later, later… when the house is still and I can actually sit and think (what?)… I go to my Father’s Day board and I can get busy planning.

The concept I’m MOST excited to try is the group board… boards that multiple people can pin on at the same time.  Say you and your 4 siblings are trying to find a present for your sweet mamma’s 60th birthday.  You can ALL collect ideas and pin them to Mamma’s Birthday Board

Need help with your weekly menu?  Invite some friends to pin up their favorite internet recipes.

Thinking about summer and what to do with 60 days of kids, rain, sunshine, and glue?  Make a group board and your friends can pin blogs and lists and all kinds of things that will help you parent out loud. 

Brilliant.

I’m on there as TexasNorth.  It’s not letting me find other friends at the moment (which is strictly my computer’s fault)… so if you’re on there, let me know!  Or, if you’d like to check it out, I’ve got invites to pass out.

We need to get going on the Summer Kids board and the TexasNorth Neighborhood Cruise board. 

Giddyup.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

16 responses to “a new love

talk to me

