ready to run

At 3:12pm Saturday, I went into Gus Man’s room to rescue him from his crib after a nice 2-hour nap. He was fully clothed (a bonus, since I have indeed found him naked recently… the little bugger) – fully clothed including shoes.

Curtis James, did you put Gideon down for a nap with shoes on?

Yes. Yes, I did.

-pause-

Do YOU sleep with shoes on?

Yes. Yes, I do.

-pause-

I must confess, though, I don’t sleep with shoes on all that often.

I do love that man. I don’t get how his brain works, but I love him.

We’re having some significant broadband-internet-connection-blah-blah-blah troubles here at TexasNorth. I’m blaming it on the raccoons, since they are responsible for 99% of the mischief on this farm. Just be aware that I may not be able to respond to your comments or emails as quickly (ok, instantly) as usual. I’m still here!

Talk to me, Goose.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

8 responses to “ready to run

  • chad

    Putting Gus to bed with his shoes on makes perfect sense. I’ve done this with my own boys a time or two. You see, with shoes on, it makes it much harder to get ones pants off. As any man knows, you have to get your shoes off if you want your pants to come off…it’s an ‘order of operations’ thing. Curt was ensuring that Gus would be found with pants on after his nap. Congratulations are in order.

  • Sunday Grant Photography

    Worth constantly amazes me by the things he puts on the girls and what he puts them to sleep in. I have had to remind him a couple of times that they are humans and need basic things like baths and teeth brushing. Bless that man!

  • amanda {the habit of being}

    i’m laughing because as i look over at the lil nacho napping in my bed, he’s wearing shoes. no pants but he does have his shoes. when i left the room after putting him in bed he had on a shirt and pants, no shoes. apparently he’s been busy.

  • Margie

    I suspect you handled this with a bit more tact than I did when Hubby asked at a time when the youngest was 2 1/2 years old (which was 54 months after having had a child or children in the home), “Where do you keep the pajamas?”

  • texasnorth

    You have a VERY good point, Chad. Shoes and pants do seem to be a package deal for boys 🙂

  • Aunt Regina

    Trust me after 36 1/2 of marriage and living in the same house – I still get asked where things are kept. I think it is in the Y gene.

talk to me

