walkabout

AH, love… we are back.  All of us under one roof again.  Rylie’s trip to Texas for Camp Sebeck with my parents was a huge success in every way, but her return has been even sweeter.  Her brother is FULL of hugs and smiles for her, which is just about the sweetest thing you’ve ever seen.  Thank you for all your love and prayers and encouragement.  You are such a blessing to me.

I must tell you things have been a bit yucky behind the scenes around here.  This blog neighborhood has been such a surprise and incredible joy for me… to write, to chronicle, to laugh, to absolutely sob. It’s also a very personal place for me, and as much as I control what I say here I still cannot control perception. For me, that kills. I have always been a girl who wants so very much to be understood- both in story and in person.  Lately, everything has been… off.  Hugely off. 

I’m going to retreat for a little bit.  A couple months, I think.  I’m going to let this season fade, I’m going to watch a few folks walk away, I’m going to store up. After 6 years of regular, disciplined writing, I am due for a walkabout. I’ll certainly pop in here and there with photos… but little writing.

I’m going to pack up my brother-in-law and family and send them to Huntington Beach.  

I’m going to build my kids a life-size rolling chalkboard.

I’m going to buy a puppy and train it to herd/chase cattle with me.

I’m going to paint stars on my porch.

I’m going to figure out how to be a more intentional mom to Rylie and Gus.

I’m going to buy a new computer and an upright vacuum.

I’m going to raise 50 chicks for our first Old School class in September.

I’m going to Netflix the entire Tudors series and sew until every household in America has a cute little pillow and celebration banner.

I’m going to grow this Little Mulder #3. 

And then, when my heart is clear and my humor is quick again, I’m going to come back.

I hope you’ll be waiting.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

26 responses to “walkabout

  • Jim

    Sorry to hear. Plz send us an update email once and awhile. We are at the cottage enjoying the lake and GD. Be safe and we will also check in with you. From the east side.

  • Andi

    I will totally be waiting. Hope your walkabout is renewing and I hope that rolling chalkboard gets some pics.

  • Sunday Grant Photography

    i am a little devastated at the moment. how am i going to know what my friend is doing? maybe we should start up our letters again, real letters that come in the mail (gasp!) I need some katie in my life, but I also understand the need for a walkabout, boy do I ever.

  • Nancy Lee

    whoa…whoa…whoa…i apparently missed the announcement? or my mind is going and i just don’t remember… anyway…if I haven’t said congrats…then congrats…and enjoy your “walkabout” and your family…I will be here waiting with a cool drink when you return…

  • susannah

    that pic of Gus is amazing. it’s like he knows that this picture will be trotted out at his wedding for everyone’s amusement 🙂

    you will be missed. my monday and thursday coffee will not be quite so full of laughs. but i hope that this drought for us will be a season of nourishment for you.

  • Miss Laura

    Mondays and Thursday mornings at work just got a little dimmer…but all the more reason to connect in person. Fully support the vacuum cleaner purchase, BTW. I feel that pain. Glad that all your chickadees are in the same coop again.

  • Amy L

    That’s a big list sister… I too echo the comments above that coffee time will be a little less amusing but I can wait. I ain’t going nowhere!

  • Jim

    By the way spent manyl meeting days in HB. Seemed like a cool place.

  • Grace

    It’s amazing how much I’ve come to look forward to the posts of a friend whom I’ve never met. And while I would never tell you you can’t take time away, I’m going to miss you. 😦

  • Stacy Pursifull

    I hope I’m a stop on your walkabout. Glad to hear you guys had a good vaca! Dam dogs is due a visit when I get back and the big girls are at camp.

  • claire

    I’m going to miss your monday and thursday morning stories! Can’t wait to say “welcome back!”

  • amanda {the habit of being}

    You will be missed but I understand completely. Come back renewed and refreshed and as witty as ever, k?

  • Carley

    You will be missed. I hope this walkabout helps. Good luck with your list!

  • tumbledweeds

    NO!! I was so glad to have found you, just oh-so-recently, and now you’re going away? 😦 Well, I understand, of course, and truly pray for peace for you and yours. I adore your list of plans. Blessings.

  • Margie

    WHAT ARE YOU DOING? Of course, I understand as I am in the middle of a short respite myself, but – seriously? I’ve totally missed your posts these last couple of weeks. (And your FB updates – it’s just not the same without you.) I understand, but then again, I’m selfish. But I UNDERSTAND. Please come back soon. Please.

  • kateohkatie

    I’ll be here! Hope everything is all right there, at least (if it can’t be great, can it at least be all right?)

    Was just thinking of you the other day when I rearranged the bookshelf that holds the circle garland you made.

    Hug your kiddos, and hang in there. Hope to see you back soon!

  • SamanthaC

    Waiting patiently…

  • Jessica

    wha…. I…dont really know what to say. I can catch you on email but, I am sad. I will miss you bi-weekly posts and inspirtations but support you 100 percent. Love you friend. I will talk to you soon.

  • Brittany

    I check in from afar and have enjoyed your insights, humor and shared in your pain. I hope you know how much you make others laugh, think and celebrate the little things in life. I will wait eagerly till your back online again! Enjoy the walkabout and keep writing your own memories! The best thing is they are yours, and one day, your perception of them will be all that matters. 🙂

  • Mandi

    You will be missed, Friend! Praying that this “walkabout” will be a blessing for you and your family.

  • aliciaeakins

    Thank you for sharing your life and your heart with me, via this blog, even though we’ve never met. I, for one, am incredibly grateful for your willingness to share. So, I hope that your time away is immensely restorative and I will anxiously await your return to this space. Blessings and love-

  • Thya

    I love you katiekate 🙂

  • shanda

    I am respectfully sad.

    I’ve so enjoyed getting to know you and journeying with you and having you over–because of this blog. I get it though. It just means we may have to get together again. I know I’m coming over in September for some fun. . . not so much for the chickens. You are honest, thoughtful, engaging, journeying to do your best. . . and you’ve let me come along. I’ll get off the train for the moment, but I’ll keep my ticket in hand.

  • HopefulLeigh

    Do what you need to do, friend. I’m just glad we found each other in the first place! Whenever you’re ready to come back, I’ll be ready to read your words once more.

  • Lisa Hudson

    I generally read you from my google reader, but, this??? This deserves a personal visit. Blessings to you, dear Katie. Your story is always full of wonder and humor and honesty. Your readers can’t ask for more. But a walkabout (such a FAB-ulous term) is something to which you are so deserving. Make it real and full and joyful and soak up every moment. I’ll be here waiting if and when you decide you’ve walked about long enough.

    Now, go jump in the air and let out a “YEE HAW!!!!” Have fun!

  • Julie Lenger

    I sure sure sure do love this post. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa-lot.

talk to me

