killer salsa

My favorite salsa recipe:

  • 8-10 cups of tomatoes, chopped and drained of juice (I use 10 cups)
  • 2 bell peppers, chopped
  • 2-4 jalapenos, chopped (I use 2)
  • cilantro, chopped 
  • 3 onions (small to medium), chopped 
  • 1 cup white vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon black pepper (this kicks a bit, which is why I only use 2 jalapenos)
  • 1 tablespoon garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup or less of white sugar
  • 6 oz. tomato paste

Throw everything in a large pot, simmer for at least one hour (or several intervals over a couple of days if you’re me and have crazy children WHO TOUCH EVERYTHING), and then ladle into hot jars and water bath for 20 minutes. I get 5 pints out of this batch… pretty small compared to some of the recipes out there.  But, it’s great for one day of salsa-making.  You can also put this straight in the fridge (without canning) for up to a month. I don’t recommend freezing salsa… it thaws a bit mealy and just isn’t quite the same level of awesomeness.  Use it immediately, or can it for the rest of the year.

Let me be frank here: I am no canning expert, and neither was your grandmother.  Hot water baths for canning salsa are ONLY OK if the recipe comes from a trusted canning and kitchen website.  Tomatoes themselves are acidic, as is the vinegar, but every other ingredient you add or subtract changes that pH level.  Even one little bell pepper.  I know.  It’s a little crazy… but you just want to be extra careful.  It’s going to be sitting on your shelf for up to a year and we want it to be yummy and safe.  When in doubt, use a pressure canner. 

That being said, this is a friend’s recipe I’ve used ever since I’ve been canning on my own… 5 years maybe?  I hot water bath this recipe- as listed- and have had no trouble with spoilage or anything else.  But, again, I am a mere farm maiden mortal. 

Happy salsa-making!

a couple of great websites for you:

http://www.pickyourown.org/allaboutcanning.htm

http://www.freshpreserving.com/home.aspx

http://www.canningpantry.com/using-pressure-canners.html

http://www.simplycanning.com/pressure-canning.html

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

3 responses to “killer salsa

talk to me

