I feel pretty.

In a rare moment of humility, I rested my head on The Boy’s shoulder and said, “I want to thank you for being so kind about my clothing lately.”

Not knowing to just leave well-enough alone he asked, “Whatever do you mean, Fairest?” (or something close)

“You know.  How I wear the same clothes every day… usually after sleeping in them.”

[pause]

“Well,” he said, “I know it’s a crazy phase of life right now.”

[pause]

“And I know that phase will end.”

[pause]

“And I reserve the right to mention when I think you’ve past the end.”

I do, Folks.  I do sometimes sleep in my clothes.  My time is never guaranteed in the mornings… who knows when  a tantrum or diaper or fire will cut into prep time?  I figure clothed-but-possibly-slept-in is always a better option in the carpool lane than naked.

Comfort, warmth, and *ahem* accessibility are the main requirements of my wardrobe.  Since leaving my Jordache Jeans behind in elementary school, I have lived in the sporty/bohemian world of  fashion.  Having babies only sent me further into Casual Land.  Everyone needs a little boost now and then, and I do love me some dresses and skirts in fine weather.  Right now, though, that little June Bug up there is keeping me in the yoga pants and Lycra.  She is so cute.  I forgive her for my thighs.  I do.

[favorites: Patagonia, Title Nine, Athleta, Sundance, Garnett Hill]

Please send me one of everything from Sundance, m’kay?  I could live in that catalog.

Mandi is on a mission to update her closet.  Give her some places you love to shop for good, quality, non-mom type duds.

MC is on bed-rest waiting out Sam’s delivery… and we’re all hoping for later rather than sooner.  If you have a minute, head on over and say hello to the girl.  Her chronicles are smart and hilarious, and I’m sure you have some stories of your own to share that will help her pass the remaining time.

Happy weekend, Folks!  

We love you here at TexasNorth!

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

11 responses to “I feel pretty.

  • Kim

    to make you feel better….you are not the only one who sleeps in her clothes, wears then multiple days in a row(ok, maybe that is just me) and the clothes are only comfy clothes. someday when i am able to sleep all night, then maybe my wardrobe will change…that said…I was up 6 times last night(and that doesnt include the many times I had to put the pacifiers in the mouths)..2 times with Ella, 2 times with Alexa, and 2 times cause Bryan walked in our room saying his legs hurt (and his clock is on the wrong time)

  • Amy L

    Clothed is better than not. Agreed. Bless that man for being patient with you as these can be hard months. And bless him to for knowing when it’s time to step out of the lycra. Honesty is good.

    Miss AbbyJ is a doll. Wish I could just ‘pop over’ and snuggle her for a bit. And of course give you a big hug!

  • MC

    OH- you are so sweet! Clothing is definitely something I would love to begin thinking about again one day (I have dreamed about myself in the Sundance catalog too). I forgot what it’s like to button a pair of pants…

    That little cutie pie is a good reason to wear yoga pants indefinitely!

  • HopefulLeigh

    The family I nanny for got the Sundance catalog a couple of weeks ago. I’d never heard of it before (other than the festival) and was quickly drooling over the pages. Me likey.

  • Stephanie

    I will forever love the GAP as their jeans actually cover your bum and they have everything from the workout variety all the way to the dressiest of pieces and you can mix & match so much. It isn’t old lady clothes but I don’t feel like I am “30 going on 17”

  • Melissa

    Oh I just love you Katie! You are not alone, I realized I had chewed up graham cracker on my fleece and slept in it anyways…and wore it the next day.

  • Mandi

    Bless you for trying to solicit a little extra help for me! Actually, it was Jeff suggesting (in a super nice way) that it was time to move out of complete “mommy mode” that inspired me to change my wardrobe up a bit. It’s good to have a guy around who is patient with the process but knows when to encourage a new look.

    That Abby is absolutely precious! She is worth the thighs and the *ahem* accessible clothing!

  • Wende

    That Abby June is a marvel. . . so beautiful. Like her mother.

  • Margie

    Curt’s responses have Made. My. Day. And my kids are in school and I’m way past the end. It’s just that warm-up clothes are so…comfortable…

    And Abby – could use lots more photos there. She’s changing so fast!

talk to me

