She does not feel pretty.

You know Rylie Girl is not feeling well when her socks are on sideways and she doesn’t even care.  I considered taking into the ER for that reason alone.  For the 2nd time in 2 months, she has the super-bug that’s going around.  Poor thing.  She spent the first 5 years of her life sickness-free but is paying for it on the flip side.

What do you remember about being sick as a kid?  I remember that Mom would always french braid my hair out of the way.  I remember having the yellow bowl on the coffee table for, well… you know.  It also meant I got to move to the living room couch with the big blue blanket and my pillow.  I would watch The Price is Right and drink pools of ginger ale.

 What about you?

It’s hard to navigate a sick kiddo when you still have a hands-on infant and a tornado of a 2 year-old in the house.  Here’s a crock pot recipe I made last week that I’ll be making again this week.  It was a huge success and I need the brain-free time!

Crock Pot Angel Chicken

[source here]

  • 6 boneless chicken breasts
  • ½ cup butter
  • 1 (1 ounce) package dried Italian salad dressing mix
  • 1 (10 ½ ounce) can Campbell’s Golden Mushroom soup
  • ½ cup white wine (may substitute water or broth)
  • 4 ounces cream cheese with chives and onions
  • angel hair pasta or rice (cook according to box directions)

Directions:

  1. Place the chicken in crock pot.
  2. Melt butter in a saucepan.
  3. Stir in Italian salad dressing mix, can of soup, cream cheese & wine(or water or broth). Pour over chicken.
  4. Cook on low in the crock pot for 4-5 hours.
  5. Pour over cooked angel hair pasta or other noodles or rice.

 

I used garlic cream cheese and served it all over rice.  I am guessing you could halve the butter and still have fabulous results.  Gus Man ate his weight in the rice and sauce with Rylie coming in only slightly behind him.

Have a fabulous Monday, Folks!  We’ll see you Thursday if everyone is back on their feet again.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

13 responses to “She does not feel pretty.

  • Miss Laura

    Well, I didn’t get my hair french braided because my mother kept my hair short…because she didn’t know how to do a darn thing with hair. To make up for this, when I was sick I would braid the very, very long hair of my Hawaiian Barbie. As in lots of tiny braids, braided into thicker braids, braided into one long rope of braidiness. I would then stick her head in the spout of the humidifier sitting next to me to get it nice and damp, then the next day I would take it all out and marvel at my handiwork. All this complemented by the 13″ black and white TV that was brought into my room (complete with tinfoil on the antenna) so I could watch I Dream of Jeannie. I must have been sick a lot in 2nd grade, because that was the year we lived in Saginaw and all of my sick-as-a-child memories are there. Just as well, I suppose 🙂

  • Cathy

    I remember my Mom holding me in the rocking chair covered with a blanket and taking her finger lightly and caressing my forehead.

  • trace

    I remember my mom making hot “tea” from jello or koolaid powder for us to drink. Black Cherry Koolaid was always my favorite and still tastes good when I’m sick.

  • Tricia

    Sprite, Saltines, peppermints, chicken noodle cup-of-soup… I pretty much hate ALL of those things because I associate them so strongly with being sick.

    Poor Rylie. I hope she’s feeling better soon– her flushed cheeks are adorable, though. (Thanks for the crock pot recipe- looks like a winner!)

  • Mandi

    Poor Rylie! I hope she feels better soon!

    Thankfully, I don’t have many sick-day memories, because I just wasn’t sick much. I do remember, on the rare occasion that I was sick, lying on the couch, snuggled under a blanket, with a waste basket on the floor near my head, and watching cartoons–and my mom panicking to move me into the bathroom if I made the slightest gagging sound.

    Your recipe sounds delicious! I want to try it soon.

  • Thya

    Oh, those rosy cheeks.

  • Kim Aguilar

    For some reason, whenever I was sick as a kid, all I wanted was a McDonald’s chicken sandwich and a chocolate shake. I know. Weird. I had a stomach of iron back then. But my mom always went out and got them for me.

    As for your chicken…I’ve made the same recipe, more or less, for several years. I’ve found that you can use cream of chicken soup, if the mushroom is all gone. And you can use Ranch dressing mix instead of Italian. Tastes basically the same. You can also omit the butter and the liquid all together. Especially if you just throw in the whole 8 oz of cream cheese. Hypothetically speaking. Oh, and sometimes we have our “Italian chicken” over garlic mashed potatoes, with cream cheese. Did I mention the cream cheese?

  • Cortney

    WE HAD THE YELLOW BOWL TOO!

    Ours was a large Tupperware bowl that was only ever used for two things–being sick, or popcorn. It never bothered us to eat popcorn from that thing, and now when I think about it, I gag a little bit. But then again, now that I have a baby, I’m becoming increasingly immune to things that used to make me gag….

    Being sick was the only time I remember having jello other than the rare occasion that I bought school lunch. And it was absolutely the only time we had ginger ale.

    I know that I loved loved LOVED the taste of baby aspirin and orange Triaminic.

    I also remember absolutely loving the magic that was the cool mist humidifier, perched on a chair near my bed. I would get out of bed in the middle of the night just to stick my face in it and breathe. Not sure that helped get me better faster, but it clearly kept me entertained 🙂

  • MC

    I hope Rylie feels better soon. I had the bug a couple of times last year and I thought I would die!

    My mom always brought me grape juice over ice with a straw, so I still get someone to buy me grape juice when I’m sick. I also remember watching Price is Right!

    …and you hang in there with all you’ve got going on!

  • Margie

    Thank you for the recipe! I am totally saving it.

    Best memory of illness: Chicken pox and home for 2 weeks. Mom set a table beside my bed and I spent hours with new, awesome flavor-smelling markers (cherry, grape, etc.) and a Richard Scarry activity book. I’m sure I had moments of feeling bad, but soup in bed, and the book, and a couple of new stuffed animals made it one of the happiest memories of my life.

    At other times though, the best thing was the washcloth on the forehead. It always made me feel better.

  • stephanie

    definitely spent the day on the couch with the “gray bowl” standing by. we always had 7-Up. i now make Isaac a “sick couch”. he loves it. he actually asks for a “sick couch” even when he’s not sick. ha! i think it’s because he knows he gets to eat and drink in the living room and watch movies all day. we have a green bowl now…which Ike calls the “pukey-pukey bowl”. cute.

    i’m definitely trying that chicken recipe this week!

  • stephanie

    p.s. our gray bowl totally double-functioned as the popcorn bowl…as does the green bowl now! why is that? and i don’t even think twice about it!

talk to me

