honesty

Rylie went to bed last night with her pj top on backwards.

If you know my child at all, you know that something here is terribly wrong… and you’re right.  She was too busy to notice her fashion mistake, completely melting into the floor and crying herself toward dehydration from being so absolutely tired that she could not muster the strength to go on one. more. minute.  Dude, let’s be honest.  I wasn’t that far behind her.

I was alone last night because Curt was stuck at work late putting out a (figurative) fire.  The three cherubs and I had just returned from riding therapy.  Abby June (9 pounds 6oz) had 3 vaccinations that morning at her 2 month+ checkup and was not speaking to me.  Gus Man refused to get out of the van because it was raining and he wanted to catch the rain in his shoe AND THEN DRINK IT.

It was not our finest moment, lemme tell ya.

Ry’s tired because on Tuesday we started a new schedule: school from 8:30 to 3:30 instead of coming home at 11:30.  Most of her pre-school class stays for lunch and daycare in the afternoon.  There’s built-in nap time and outside chaos, as well.  Since she’ll be jumping into school 5 days a week next year, we thought it good to start stretching her days out… even just ONE day a week.

If today is any indication of what I have coming in September 2012, hide your chocolate and  your medications.  I was not built for these kind of days.  Advice or commiseration welcome.

Your book recommendations from Monday are FABULOUS.  My Hold List at the library is full and that makes me giddy.  Right now I’m in the middle of Expecting Adam and could not be more attached to this woman and her journey through pregnancy while being a student at Harvard and finding out she was pregnant (in the late 1980s) with a Downs Syndrome child.  No one told me about this book.  No one told me how absolutely smart and hysterical and true this book is.  You should read it.  I dare you.

Next up will be Oh My Stars.  Holly thinks that’s me on the cover.  I’m not going to tell her she’s wrong.

Did I mention that my mom won the naming contest for Sugar’s calf? No?  Hmmm.  Funny thing, how time slips away like money at a carnival. The top three winners were Caramel Grande, Baby Grand, and Spicy Little Mexican Number.  I let Curt chose between the three and he really liked Baby Grand… TXN Rio’s Baby Grand Special is her official name, so there you have it.  Mom, next time you have a baby shower to go to the gift is on me.

I leave you with this quote from Martha Beck in Expecting Adam:

Whoever said that love is blind was dead wrong.  Love is the only thing on this earth that lets us see each other with the remotest accuracy.

Preach it.

I have no plans for this weekend other than family dinner on Sunday and keeping Gideon out of the chicken feed bin.  I need rest, if not physical then simply mental.  Come ye, Legos and Long Naps.  I hold the door wide open for boredom and un-healthy snacks.  Bring on the rain, the wood-stove fire, the nachos for dinner.  I’m ready.

Have a fabulous weekend, Folks.  See you Monday!

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

7 responses to “honesty

  • elspethcordelia

    That does look like you on the cover,

  • Stacy

    Expecting Adam is a fantastic book! We read that last year in book club. True story from right here in GR. if you haven’t read story of beautiful girl add that to your list too. See ya Sunday!

  • Jess

    I think by starting Rylie out now she will be just fine in September! Good job mama!!! I can always let you borrow my book of my kindle when you want to read it. I love that you can borrow books from others too!

  • Ally O.

    I hope you that your weekend is full of reading, relaxing, and eating comfort food! I’m excited for you to read Oh My Stars – can’t wait to hear what you think of it. I have not read Five Smooth Stones, so I have made it next on my list! I will most likely start it this weekend.
    On another note that you may appreciate, we are getting our first chicks tomorrow and I am beyond excited. We live just inside of the city limits of our town and last fall the city changed their stance allowing city residents to have up to five chickens. We are getting two silver lace wyandottes and two rhode island reds. We are beyond excited to meet the ladies and can’t wait for them to grow into good layers! 🙂
    Have a great weekend!

    • texasnorth

      Oh, super fun! You will love the chickens… you really will. Send pictures of their little (or big?) coop! My girls are so sad right now… the farm is a wasteland of mud and slush. Everyone looks like they just returned from hiking in the jungle 🙂 We need to dry out!

  • Julie

    I’m saying a prayer for God’s strength and peace to fill you when you are completely drained. I pray that you will never forget that you are loved and remembered by our heavenly Father…always. And I’m praying for your sweet Rylie…that God will give her balance and fill her heart with the peace she needs to get through these longer days. I’ve been there…some days I’m still there.

    I wanted to tell you about this little contraption: http://www.especialneeds.com/sensory-motor-swings-swing-frames-swings-cuddle-swing.html
    It is responsible for my continued sanity. My daughter gets in her swing right after school for 30-45 minutes. It gives her time to rest and “re-set” from her busy day at school. She looks at books, plays with stuffed animals, listens to calming music, etc. On days she skips her swing time, she has meltdowns, so we don’t miss it very often. Another thing we did was cut out all after school therapy and activities on days she was busier than normal. It was just too much for her to handle. She needed the down time more than she needed the therapy.

    I apologize for the unsolicited advice…I just wanted to share what has worked in our family because it made such a HUGE difference.

    Praying you have a relaxing, peaceful weekend.

    Blessings,
    Julie

    • texasnorth

      Julie, you’re experiential and heartfelt advice is ALWAYS welcome. In fact, I demand it. We got Ry one of those swings for Christmas! It’s a different version than your link, but same. It’s hanging downstairs in the hallway for Winter Fun, but it’s never really caught on. BUT. I think it’s an excellent idea to ‘require’ it for a set period of time. She uses it in therapy, so I think setting some expectations for that at home could be just the thing. Brilliant.

      And you’re right about the after school therapies… Curt and I are just starting to figure out what will have to go and what can stay. Right now we do one therapy or school per day for a couple hours. Big changes ahead!

talk to me

