enchiladas

Yesterday was a rough day.

And I sat down to start today’s post, which has been brewing for some time now, but I realized it was going to take me somewhere I wasn’t ready to go after a day like today.  So, we’ll save it for Monday.

Instead, we’re going to go with enchiladas.  The best enchiladas you’ve ever had.  Truly.  Go to the store, buy the ingredients- even the weird ones– and make it.  This is the meal that taught me about tomatillos and how to buy hot peppers… neither of which I was ever confident enough to do before. It’s also a Big Girl recipe… with multiple steps and more than 5 ingredients.  This takes me out of 95% of my comfort zone.  Add in things like tomatillos and fresh herbs and this Polish girl is panicking.  I know.  But it will be ok, I promise you.  Let’s grow together, shall we?

My sister-in-law Sarah (also known as the nicest person I’ve ever met) made this for me years ago in Montana and I have never looked back.  Megan asked for it last week saying she couldn’t find it on the blog and I was stunned I’d never put it out there before.  I’ve been holding out on you and I AM SORRY.

Chicken Enchiladas with Salsa Verde

(from Sarah…out of Texas Monthly)

salsa verde:

2 #s tomatillos, dehusked and washed (Don’t be afraid.  They’re sticky under the husk, but they’ll look just like little green tomatoes after to peel the husk off and rinse them.)

1 medium yellow onion

6 serrano peppers or 3 jalapenos (I use 4 serranos, personally.)

2 T. canola oil

¾ cup fresh cilantro

salt to taste

Place tomatillos, onion, & peppers in a skillet and drizzle with 1 T. of canola oil.  Roast for 10 minutes.  Add skillet mixture to blender with cilantro & salt.  Heat remaining 1 T. of canola oil in the skillet.  Add blender sauce to the skillet and cook for 5 minutes.  Set aside.

chicken enchiladas:

2 ½ #s chicken

¼ cup butter

1/3 cup diced green pepper

1 1/3 cup diced yellow onion

¾ cup diced fresh tomatoes

1 t. minced garlic

1 t. salt

1 t. pepper

1 ½ t. cumin

¾ t. oregano

¾ cup whole tomatoes, pureed with juice

¾ cup canola oil

16-20 white corn tortillas (6” round)

1 # Monterey Jack cheese, shredded

Preheat oven to 350°.  Boil chicken and shred.  In a 2 qt. pot, melt butter.  Add bell pepper, onion, and diced fresh tomatoes.  Cook until soft.

To pot, add shredded chicken, spice mixture (in italics above), and pureed tomatoes.  Cook for 15 minutes.

In a skillet, heat canola oil.  Using tongs, place tortillas in one at a time and cook until soft.  Stack on a plate with a paper towel in between each one.

Assemble enchiladas.  Pour salsa verde and shredded cheese on top.  Bake until cheese melts.

Sure, you can make it with flour tortillas and freeze it- just make the salsa verde the day you’re going to eat it.

Go for it.

Enjoy.

Meet me back here Monday, ok?

Gracias.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

4 responses to “enchiladas

  • Amy L

    Perfect! Printing it out now and adding it to my list.

  • Julie

    “There is nothing — no circumstance, no trouble, no testing — that can ever touch me until, first of all, it has gone past God and past Christ, right through to me. If it has come that far, it has come with great purpose, which I may not understand at the moment. But as I refuse to become panicky, as I lift up my eyes to Him and accept it as coming from the throne of God for some great purpose of blessing to my heart, no sorrow will ever disturb me, no trial will ever disarm me, no circumstance will cause me to fret — for I shall rest in the joy of what my Lord is!”
    (Alan Redpath, former pastor of Moody Church)

    Praying today is a better day for you.

    –Julie Graham

  • Chris Skoglund

    As tomatillos have established themselves as THE dominant weed in my garden (yeah that’s right, in NEW HAMPSHIRE), thank you for combining the terms tomatillo and comfort zone in one post… now I’m ready to take on that challenge course next year.

  • Amy B.

    You have posted it somewhere before because Rachel has raved to me about it…looks like a weekend kind of recipe for me, when there’s an extra pair of arms for baby-holding.

talk to me

