Daddy’s outta town.

Daddy’s out of town on business.

This is Day 4.

Abby’s face pretty much says it all.

With it being Spring Break for Rylie, I knew we were going to need some time-busters for our l o n g week a l o n e.

So, project #1 was flowers.  Buy some flowers.  Plant some flowers.  Dig in the dirt and be messy, use the big red wagon… a grand ol’ time for everyone involved.  We planted 2 lovely front porch planters and then put all the leftovers in a planter for the back.

Gus Man just doesn’t know when to quit, though.  I found the kid outside, elmo socks but no shoes, yelling TWO! TWO! TWO!  See his right hand?  That’s how he signs TWO! The sign is accompanied by a very cute voice… I need to see if I can get that on video soon. Anyway. TWO!

TWO! plants left in the back planter.  TWO!  Out of, oh, fifteen.  The not-so-lucky ones were strewn from 3 inches away to about 100 feet away.  Insanity.  All I did was empty the dishwasher.  He somehow managed to accomplish this in about 10 minutes.

My gardener will not be receiving his full commission for this project.  It should be enough that I saved his life by hiding him from Rylie, who was absolutely BEDSIDE HERSELF OH MY LANTA when she saw her beauty destroyed.  Reconfigured.  Altered.  Whichever way your gate swings, the Destroyer had destroyed AND felled some trees in the process.  Who knew it was possible to grow into a name so quickly?

All but one flower is accounted for and back in their little holes in the big planter. Somewhere out there (beneath the pale moonlight) is a lone pansy crying and it’s all Gideon’s fault.

Curt comes home late tonight. God bless America. My body physically hurts from this week.

Project #2: rocks and paint

Stay tuned.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

5 responses to “Daddy’s outta town.

  • Jess

    oh how I love your family. I am sure it wasnt so funny at the moment, I can only imagine the complete meltdown my rylie would have had. But that Gus, he is so stinkin’ precious I cant stand it!!!

  • Amy L

    Just need to find a way to harness for good…

  • MC

    Golly, you’re a champion. I am mentally multiplying the way I feel at about 4:45 everyday, when Daddy “should be home soon,” by 100 for empathy’s sake. Hang in!

  • campbell c. hoffman

    Hang in there! And know that you are in good company — while he hasn’t been actually gone, our daddy has been working night shift, which does just about as much damage to the cohesion (and sanity!) of our sweet little family. Hey, it’s almost Easter, right? Hallelujah!

  • Mandi

    Oh girl, I definitely get the insanity that comes with Daddy being away, and with having curious, “helpful” little boys around, and dramatic little girls, who do not like to have their beautiful things destroyed. I get it. You have my sympathy completely. (You also have some darn cute kiddos)!

talk to me

