learning

Ry is learning with training wheels this week.

Do you remember your first bike?

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

3 responses to “learning

  • Amy L

    It was my brother’s bike which I eventually inherited but before it became mine I remember working on learning how to ride. I don’t remember training wheels, but they may have been involved. Our neighbors driveway has a slight incline but at whatever age I was it was HUGE and the bike would go so fast after that!
    Good luck to Rylie!

  • Amy B.

    My dad made a brief attempt to teach me to ride a bike on the gravelly roads of our Central Texas farm when I was probably in 5th grade. But I was awkward and clumsy and not endowed with a natural sense of balance (training wheels not included), and he was busy, stressed, and short on patience. It was a failed attempt. Twenty years or so later – right before my 30th birthday – I finally learned to ride on the rice paddy roads of the tiny Korean farm village we lived in at the time. Still no training wheels – just my husband running along behind, holding the seat of the sparkly blue Lespo bike we’d purchased from an American repatriating shortly after our arrival. Learning to ride a bike at 29 is still one of my proudest accomplishments!

  • hopefulleigh

    Oh yes! We bought it from the neighbor’s garage sale. It was vividly pink. It had a white basket (with neon flowers for decor) on the front and streamers from the handles. It was an awesome bike!

    Good luck, Rylie!

talk to me

