Sleeping Bear Dunes

Camping. Was. Awesome.

We all cried on the way home.  For various reasons, but mostly because it’s over.  We are sad to come home.  I am sad to wrangle Recovery Week.

If you need me today, or in the next 72 thousand hundred hours, I’ll be washing sand, sunscreen, and dirt out of our camping clothing. And dishes.

There are a few new photos over on Flickr, if you care to peek.  It’s quite difficult to take photos of your family being a family while trying to keep your 2 year-old out of other people’s tents, ya know?

I did manage to read two books whilst away: Home to Woefield and Oh My Stars.  Both, so very good.  Completely different, but very good.  The sheep shearing scene in Home?  Absolutely laughed out loud.

What’s the last thing you read?  

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

7 responses to “Sleeping Bear Dunes

  • Amy L

    The pictures were funny. My kids are obsessed with bungees too. Never tried that game – will have to keep it in mind. Glad you had a great time and good luck with the cleaning and the return to life post vacation.

    I finished Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnayon 4th of July morning at 2am. I hit the best part of the book right when I started reading and couldn’t put it down until it was done.

  • elspethcordelia

    I’m so glad you read, and liked, Home to Woefield. I really liked it too.

    • texasnorth

      It took me a little bit to get into it, honestly. I have trouble keeping everyone straight when authors change perspective every chapter. But, man… there is some really funny stuff in there!

  • Mandi

    Glad you’re back and that you had a blast. Good luck with the sand removal. I also just read Sarah’s Key. It switches from past to present, and I was really in to the history part of the story but didn’t love the modern stuff.

  • campbell c. hoffman

    I’m reading “The Forgotten Garden” by Kare Morton and can’t put it down.

  • Kim Aguilar

    Just finished Walk Two Moons, by Sharon Creech, which was WONDERFUL. I’m reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver. It’s fascinating, but slow going—you know how non-fiction is! 😉

talk to me

