the other 2

This week has been a breath of fresh air.  Tuesday’s launch of the special-needs group I’m co-hosting with Kaylee was/is unbelievable.  The response and community already forged is simply, well, simply a God-send.  Thank you for cheering us on!  I consider you here my anchors, and it means the world to me that you yell and scream and cry and laugh… or just sit… when I need it most.  Thank you.

Now that Ry is away from home at Big School every day, I’ve had a little more time to be with the young’ins.  Oh, man… they are cute.   It has been strange to do half-days and full-days without Ry shadowing our every move, but it has been such a blessing to get to know these kids better.  We are still trying to find a rhythm between errands and naps and food, but things are beginning to fall in place.

Here’s Abby at 9.5 months and 17 pounds of sweet.  She likes to dig in Rylie’s kitchen while Big Sister is away.  Abby is crawling like a maniac and singing to beat the band.  This child, she is going to be our heartbreaker.   She is completely different in temperament and personality from the other two.  God is so creative.

 

And, here’s Gus Gus at 2.5 years, 32 pounds of brute.  Gideon’s life right now is about trucks, B (the bear), AND HARRY the barn cat who is not allowed inside… do you see the guilt on that face? Lawd, I could just eat him. Harry puts up with a lot from Gus, as you can tell.

  

Sometimes, we even find time to clean off the counter top and make cookies.  This summer, Rylie’s day camp had a cooking class came home with this recipe.  It’s hands-down the best thing I’ve tried in ages… and I’m not even a cookie fan.  It must be the shortening.  I don’t know.  They’re incredible   I can’t tell where the recipe originated, but the nuns use it every year, so I’m calling them Blessed Cookies 🙂 Gideon likes to have them with a side of blocks and trucks.

Bless-ed Cookies

  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup sifted flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup nuts

Preheat oven to 375 °.

Cream shortening, sugars, egg, and vanilla.  Sift dry ingredients together and then add to creamed mixture.  Mix well.  Add chocolate chips and nuts.

Baked on a greased cookie sheet for 10 to 12 minutes.

Have a great weekend, Folks!

We love you here at TexasNorth.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

6 responses to “the other 2

  • Miss Laura

    You don’t like COOKIES? How are we even friends?

    I need to see these kids in person, it’s like I don’t even know them anymore 🙂 Poor Harry.

  • Jess

    Man, we want to play so bad! Why cant we be 2000 miles closer?

  • Margie

    That cookie picture is a perfect illustration of your life in these days. And I’m so trying this recipe. Maybe even today ~

    Am so, so excited about your great In Community launch. Was thrilled to see how many were on board just in the first few hours. Can’t wait to watch it grow!

  • stephanie

    Cecelia makes the best choc chip cookies and her recipe uses shortening. I”m convinced it makes all the difference. 🙂 I have to send you the adorable pic of Ike and Abby. She is a doll. Maybe someday Ike can torture Henry with Gus. 🙂

  • catherine

    Oh, Katie. Re: photo of Gus and the cat. Don’t look now, dear, but Abby isn’t the only heartbreaker in the family.

  • Tricia

    You are such a gift to me, Katie. I don’t comment as often as I should, but I am always out here reading and reaching out with love. I’m so glad the new community is off to a great start! Love and big hugs from Utah.

talk to me

