for pretend

Thanks so much for the well-wishes… I am feeling much better, thank you. Generally, my misery does not love company (preferring, instead, dark and quiet and flannel and Jane Austin movies) but it was incredibly encouraging to emerge from the fog and find notes commiserating and cheering me on.

Thanks, you.

Just for pretends, let’s say you get to buy yourself ANYTHING you want.  Anything.

Me? Oh, I’m on it.  I call dibs on this sweater:

ava sweater

these boots:

frye campus

and this donkey (his name shall be Burrito):

donkey

Seems like I’ve dreamed of Frye boots before.  Interesting. My tastes have significantly changed, though… thank goodness I didn’t go through with the last dream.  Now, the donkey… I mean, honestly. I need him. I NEED HIM. Please. In your free time, won’t you write a letter of recommendation and good will to my husband and tell him you are in favor of adding a donkey to the TexasNorth pastures? I need your help.

While you were sleeping, Abby and I winged our way to California. I know, right?! My brother is being promoted today (to Major. In the US Air Force. It’s kind of a big deal.) and we wanted to be in all the photos.  PLUS, there’s the little matter of Abby’s new cousin, Lucas, who made the trip completely and totally worth it.  If all goes well, I’ll have some postcards to post while we’re away.

Curt is at home with Ry and Gus Man until Thursday morning.  You heard me.

Now, just for kicks, what shall YOU be buying with your imaginary money?

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

5 responses to “for pretend

  • Steph

    Go Danny! Can’t wait to see pics.

    I would buy an upright deep freezer, a new gate that actually closes for our backyard so we can finally get a dog for our son, and…I’ll take some of those boots too please.

    Dear Curt, if you had a donkey, then you are one step closer to being able to host a live Nativity. SO amazing! Happy wife happy life. 🙂

  • Mandi Watts

    Congrats to Danny! So glad you get to be there with him. And I’m glad you are getting to visit with that sweet new baby, too.

    With my imaginary money, I’m buying a new van, some bedroom furniture and a tropical vacation.

    Dear Curt, Katie really needs a donkey. They are so cute! Plus, think what a hit it would be with the kids. You don’t want to miss an opportunity to be Husband of the Year AND Dad of the Year! Just something to think about.

  • Kim Aguilar

    Your brother is AWESOME! I know what a big deal that is. Wow. BIG DEAL. Glad you are feeling better. And I would buy a house. And a body that doesn’t get fat when I eat cookies and cinnamon rolls.

  • Missindeedy

    Oooh, pretend shopping! Now that’s some fun stuff. I thought you were going all noble-like and asking for the donkey to give away. Although, how can you give away a Donkey named Burrito. I just couldn’t do it. 😉 Can I also buy the sweater? Stinkin’ cute. I hope your man lived to tell the stories when you got back? And CONGRATS to your brother. That’s Big Doin’s! I’d go buy the new Microsoft tablet (the surface). Seriously. I’m all nerdy like that.

talk to me

