Y’all gonna make me lose mah mind.

Abby was the last of our family to go through the Fever and the Stomach Bug. It was ugly. One day just after Christmas, she took an exceptionally long afternoon nap… you know, the kind you take when you feel like death. After that day, she did not take a morning or afternoon nap again until yesterday.So, not since 2012, People, has that child slept any kind of normal.  Yesterday was the first day- THE FIRST DAY, she has taken a nap and slept through the night. I feel like I am 47 years older.

Rylie learned how to say the word ‘tomorrow.’ It sounds like Two-Mah-Woh, and it’s gorgeous. Seeing my window of opportunity, I put Annie in the dvd player and cued up the song. She was shocked and thrilled… and I cried. Her re-entry into school has been ROUGH since the holiday break. We needed some happy tears around here.

Gus put Abby in the dishwasher and closed the door yesterday. “Mom. Abby wash.”  There is 2 week old clean laundry piled up on my couch and I never gave Ry’s teacher her Christmas gift. Y’all. 

What in the world.

What I need is some time away… to myself. Perhaps with other woman who know me. OR perhaps with other women who DON’T. I need to go on a retreat, be fed, hear some good words, learn, be taught. Spring Bible study started this week at church, but I need baby steps. It’s been a long time since I’ve been untethered from this house and a deep commitment absolutely terrifies me right now. I simply don’t have the right jeans.

Some of you know exactly what I’m talking about.

Some of you don’t, and that’s ok… we just can’t be friends today.

So, let’s start small.

Let’s start with a couple hours spread out over 2 days in April.

I can do that, right? You can do that.

It’s (in)RL hosted by (in)courage.

I love it. What is it? 

(said every mother everywhere every day)

Simply, (in)RealLife is a webcast on Friday followed by a local get-together Saturday.  It’s a chance to anchor those beautiful online relationships you’ve made by meeting TOGETHER and in person.  (in)RL was born out of two years spent listening to women in the comments at (in)courage craving local, real life community. Derived from the social media acronym “IRL” or “in real life,” (in)RL is an invitation to share what we’ve learned about community and encourage women with stories and suggestions for connecting deeper in real life.

Think of it as a FREE girl’s weekend away that doesn’t require packing or plane tickets, where women can kick off any expectation of perfect, set aside their fears, their shyness, their worry that they’re not good enough, and find some of Jesus’ words of rest woven into every video shared here.

The (in)RL webcast kicks off on Friday, April 26 and (in)RL meet-ups follow on Saturday, April 27.

(So, Friday is you at home in your jammies with some hot cocoa watching the conference online. Saturday is you heading out into the city and meeting up with other Ladies in your area to meet and hang out and… be awesome.)

This year we’re taking a closer look at what it takes to stay rooted in community when sometimes just walking away would be so much easier and tons more convenient. Women share stories of how they’ve chosen to stay through hard marriages, challenging parenting, worthwhile friendships. How choosing to stay has freed them more fully and unexpectedly than if they’d cut and run.

Relevant, yes?

So, let’s sign up. Let’s put ourselves out there and see what happens. Let’s see what God does when we step out from behind the computer and walk through an open door. I’m scared to death, really. I mean, leaving the farm and putting myself out there is not number 1 or number 2 (or number 12) on my list of awesome. But I’m gonna do it. Even if it’s just me and some Beautifuls I know but never get to see.  Even if it’s 5 women on Saturday that I’ve never met before in my life.  I’m doing it.

And don’t think I don’t hear you laughing at the awesomeness that is the topic for this year: commitment in difficult community. It’s like it was made for me at this point of my life, yes? I know, I know.

Sign up to attend or host a gathering in your town HERE.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

7 responses to “Y’all gonna make me lose mah mind.

  • Miriam

    Love it! Love in(RL) and was hugely blessed by meeting a bunch of strangers and putting myself out there! It ain’t easy, but it’s so worth it!!!
    Glad you got a little sleep last night! Praying there is more rest to come!

  • Catherine Fruisen

    Katie, this is tremendous. And apparently that’s all I have to say. TREMENDOUS. 🙂

  • Lizzy

    Love this! although our circumstances are somewhat different I can so totally relate to the first part of this post. Yay for Rylie’s new word. Thanks for letting us in on the celebration (even if we are a world away behind a screen). Big blessings to you 🙂

    • Kim Aguilar

      Lizzy, YES! Me too. And then there was this:

      This year we’re taking a closer look at what it takes to stay rooted in community when sometimes just walking away would be so much easier and tons more convenient. Women share stories of how they’ve chosen to stay through hard marriages, challenging parenting, worthwhile friendships. How choosing to stay has freed them more fully and unexpectedly than if they’d cut and run.

      Oh boy. THAT IS ME. I honestly didn’t think I’d be attending, but I just might have to host this discussion. 🙂

      • texasnorth

        I know, right? I’m excited to see the webcast Friday night. I’m nervous about Saturday, but I’m always nervous to meet new people.

        But don’t feel like Saturday is just a sit down, meet up and discussion in deep dark terms the hardships of community. It MAY be that, sure. But it can also just be drinks out with ladies in your town 🙂 Or a craft night. Or dinner and deep discussion and lots of laughs with new friends.

  • Missindeedy

    YES. To. This!!!! I’m hosting up here in NH if any of y’all get the ichin’ to hop a plane up north. Just sayin’… And, not for nothin, but I’ve already lost mine. Mind, that is.

  • Tif

    I love the Abby wash incident….. Sometimes we all just need a good rinse cycle.

talk to me

