bedtime prayers

In the interest of full-disclosure, I need to tell you that the video of the speech I gave for Rylie’s school in April is out there. Every hermit bone in my body is shaking. I am a dish best served on paper. Oh man. But, it’s an honest speech, and it was a good night, AND I do believe the people we have worked with deserve the credit I give them in the message. There you have it.

If you’ve ever wondered what I look like, move like, sound like… here you go. Please note: my hair does not always look that good. I do, in fact, close my eyes a lot when I speak. I know. I’m working on it.

gus man

Have you met my son? He’s just about the cutest thing on this farm. He makes my heart hurt in every way.

Most every night, Curt puts him to bed and they say their prayers. Sometimes I listen outside of the door. I don’t go IN because he’s still three and completely addicted to me and he would never sleep, but sometimes I listen.

Play this game with me. I’ll be Gideon and you be Dad, ok? You start the prayer and I’ll repeat after you. Imagine I have a cute, raspy voice that makes me irresistible. And, my pjs are clean but my face is dirty. And, I still have my baseball cap on. And, socks. I can’t sleep without socks on.

Now

Now

I

I

Lay

Lay

Me

Me

Down

Down

To

Sleep,

[Did your heart flutter?]

I Pray

Pway

the Lord

Lawd

my soul

mines soul

to

keep. Amen.

[I just always, always, always want to remember that.]

What was your bedtime routine as a kid?

 

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

10 responses to “bedtime prayers

  • Molly

    Our bedtime prayers started the same way! We kids (4 sisters, 1 brother) would pray together with Mom on one of our beds. We added, “…guard me Jesus through the night, and wake me in the morning light. Thank you for Mommy and Daddy and Nicky and Molly, and Zachary, and Lillian, and Danielle, and Maggie (dog) and Trapper (dog) and Miya (dog)” (Maggie was a dog of the past but was just part of the song…). We would then march off to our room or bed and wait for the goodnight kisses to come around from Mom and Dad. In my “pesty” years I would latch onto my mom and not let her go until she got sick of me and licked my face and I would get mad. 🙂

    • texasnorth

      We haven’t quite gotten to the 2nd part of the prayer yet 🙂 The first part take about 17 minutes right now.

      I said a prayer like yours…
      I see the moon and the moon sees me,
      God bless the moon and God bless
      mom
      dad
      jack (dog)
      list of everything on Earth
      🙂

      We do this one, too, with the kids… they usually are thankful for themselves.

  • Kaylee Page

    Mom would always say, “Lord, thank you for Kaylee and the special little girl she is. Watch over and protect her – keep her safe. Please help her to have no bad dreams or be afraid of any wolves coming.”

    Big fear of wolves. I slept with an apple for a year (ask me about this sometime – a good laugh it is!)

    And if my sister and I were looking to spice things up, we’d switch beds, turn the lights off and hope she’s say the prayer and we could stop her and say “I’m not Charnelle” or “I’m not Kaylee”

    TRUE STORY.

  • Mandi Watts

    I do not remember the process of my mom putting me to bed so much as I remember her coming in multiple times to put me back in bed. Until sometime around mid-elementary, when I guess she finally just gave me over to my night-owl tendencies.

  • Abbie

    Girl. You were amazing! I could never give a speech like that! I am way proud of you!

    As for bedtime routines. My mom would read with me, tuck me in, say prayers, and kiss me goodnight. She would return downstairs for her nightly routines. I would promptly follow her downstairs and sit at the bottom of the stairs and just listen… for hours. When she finally got ready to come up to bed I would dash up there first, climb into my bed and start fake sleeping. I was convinced if I could hear her working then she couldn’t be getting sick with cancer or aids (I had very little understanding of how it was transmitted back in the 80’s) and dying. I was severely sleep deprived in my elementary years.

  • Margie

    I close my eyes, too. But I don’t think I’m working on it. But when I saw you, I thought, “I do that!” Perhaps a little more self-awareness (the good kind) would help.

    I don’t remember bedtime routines as a child. (We didn’t have any – not even prayers before bed. That was up to me.) But the routine with the girls is to always give the “May the Lord bless you and keep you…” benediction. If we have time, we read and do a lengthy prayer for others and ourselves. But the benediction, no matter what else is happening, is a must.

  • Shelly

    Well done on the speech. Well done. And side note – I think your children are fortunate and blessed to have you as their mother.

  • SamanthaC

    I’m not sure when I started reading your blog. I remember after reading that first post, I went back to the beginning and read every entry until I caught up. My lifestyle does not allow for me to read every Monday or every Thursday, but I never miss an entry. I will go on to say I am the mother of two girls, grown and almost grown, neither of which are special needs; not just a reader of books, but a collector (hoarder?) of all genres, all eras, because I enjoy the written language; and last, but never least, a follower of Christ. All of these things draw me to your blog. When I started watching your video at midnight, knowing I had to get up at 5, I never expected to watch the entire thing. That is, however, exactly what I did. Kate, you have such a gift with words, made even more special by your sense of humor. Do not be distracted by your hair, your eyes, or your husbands muscles. You may be more comfortable putting words on paper, but you nailed that speech. And when you figure out those hair fairies, do this Texas girl a favor and bring one my way on your next visit!

  • Kim Aguilar

    That is pretty dang cute.

    In Mormonland, we actually don’t say the Lord’s prayer, but use it as a guide. So, we address God, thank Him, ask Him for needed blessings, and close in His Son’s name. Clark is just starting to figure this all out, but usually mixes up night-time prayers with blessings on the food, so at bedtime we get: Dear Heavenly Father, thank Thee for this food, name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

    We think it’s pretty cute, too.

  • alexannielouisa

    You’re just so darned cute! Your blog is cute, your kids are cute, your words are even cute. So glad we connected 🙂

talk to me

