I should have.

I should have.

I should have incredible abs.

I bend and stoop and crouch every day, reaching for tiny toys lost in ridiculous places.

I should have perfect legs.

I walk, run, and scramble about 75 miles a day chasing down children and animals and the occasional postal truck.

I should have amazing arms.

I lift 20 and 30 and 40 pound weights constantly and in every direction. Over and over. Repeat. Again.

I don’t have those things. I don’t even have dreams of those things.

What I have is a tough heart.

I have a heart that can cry at school programs, discipline for backtalk, and cheer for a newborn calf.

What I have are quick hands.

I can save children from falling off the counter, stir homemade spaghetti sauce, and sign reading charts. At the same time.

What I have are sharp eyes.

I see tantrums minutes before they manifest, I see tired kids behind tears, I see lost stuffed animals at 50 paces.

My whole body… and most of my mind… is fine -tuned to kids. I cannot run a marathon (do not ask me), my pre-pregnancy body is missing in action and probably having a great time, and I regularly forget to eat meals. I do not fit on any measurement chart, and I can’t remember the names of kids in my high school class.

But I can decipher a 2-year-old’s speech, I can put three kids to bed before 8 o’clock, and I can set a timer on any electronic device out there.

I don’t have what I should have.

I have what I need.

I’m built for family.

I can do this.

I can change the words.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

7 responses to “I should have.

talk to me

