face to face

I ran out of postcards last week and missed Friday. Sorry about that. Today will make up for it!

We are home safe and sound after another drive-through-the-night extravaganza Saturday to Sunday. We spent all of last week in the loving arms of my parents in Central Texas. I was incredibly blessed to catch up with some of my anchors in life while we were in the Mother Land. I forget. I forget how very much I miss my people until I am sitting across a table from them and laughing through tears. This hermit is desperate for her personal space, but she loves deeply.

Christan

Christan… my best friend since 7th grade. Rockstar NICU nurse, actress, and Resident Director for UMHB… but truly the most loyal friend a girl could have. Her father married Curt and I nearly 9 years ago. One week ago, she wore a turquoise t-shirt with a zipper pocket in public to play a joke on my father. We are good friends. Please do not ever ask us for directions. We cannot help you.

Lisa

Sweet Lisa… fellow (in)courage community leader and- according to the manager at the Temple Chick-fil-A where we had lunch Wednesday- one “good looking lady.” Ahem. Yes. what’s even better is her heart for women and her joy in walking with them through life.

Anna

Anna, Dearest… my favorite Democrat and closest “neighbor” out in the boonies of Belton. She is the smartest girl you’ll ever meet with the best taste in music. Anna once dyed my hair red. We’ve been to New York and France together, as well as the greater Temple-Belton-Waco area (since our parents wouldn’t let their honor student children LEAVE THE COUNTY).

Mandi

Mandi… Belton High alum, Aggie roommate, apartment roommate, and first friend I ever wore a bridesmaid’s dress for. It was maroon. Mandi and her husband, Jeff, are the two most intentional, God-fearing parents I know. I take notes every time we talk. They also make the world’s best pork tacos and have a loud middle child. We get along.

Janna

Janna. My LBO, my conscience, and the person Curt calls when he has no idea what I’m talking about. I’ve never heard her raise her voice and I’ve never been in an argument with her. Like, actually never(I’ll give you a second to pick yourself up off the floor.) Janna is one of maybe 3 people I can be on the phone with longer than 2 minutes. She is the best of those among us. The best. Though, I hear, her guacamole has a bit too much lime in it.

Steph

Stephanie. My maid of honor and the only person besides Anna and my family to travel through Europe with me. She is a ballerina, Christmas-music-all-year, gourmet coffee kind of girl. Obviously, we are exactly the same person. Or, not at all. Steph and I met when Janna had a date for Valentine’s Day and we didn’t, so we went to Sbisa dining hall to wait her out. We’ve been friends ever since. She’s also the infamous Pat‘s daughter. We know how to do room service and pj pants VERY WELL together.

Margie

Margie. The kind of writer I aspire to be. It was such a joy to finally sit at a table together this past week and talk in person after years of emails, texts, and sharing stories. It should have been a cafe in Paris, not a kitchen booth at Chili’s, but I am so glad to have finally laughed out loud with you.

Kimberly and Vic

Kimberly and Vic… and the WHOLE ENTIRE GANG. The three adults in this picture went to college together, climbed rocks together, and ate at chain restaurants together. The kids in the picture came later, but are SUCH a great cross-section of said parents. [Note: Kimberly has a wee babe on her back- Miss Fiona. She was Rylie’s favorite and not to be forgotten.] We took the front lawn of the stock yards by storm. Kimberly, you are officially the only person I’ve ever seen a baby camel walking through a parking lot with. Saturday was ridiculous.

*sigh*

Texas, my Texas. You were so good to me this trip! Brilliant weather. Zero snakes. And time. THERE WAS TIME to rest and visit. So wild to actually meet up with folks for the first time in YEARS and hug and dance and eat ice cream. Thank you- all of you- for driving in dumb traffic and hauling children and leaving county lines to come say hi- even for just an hour. It means the absolute world to me.

I know really, really great people.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

6 responses to “face to face

  • Mandi Watts

    Glad you’re home safe and sound, and glad you had a good homecoming! It was wonderful to see you and Curt! We’ll be looking forward to the next face-to-face, no matter how many years it may be in the making!

  • steph

    You made It!!!! It was such a blessing. Hug Curt’s neck again for staying with your folks and kids so I could kidnap you…that’s a good man. Next time…CFS in downtown, all four of us!!! Mark my words. Love you friend. Always.

  • Margie

    So. Great. It was just so great! Thank you for working so hard to meet up ~ I know you were pushed, pulled, and stretched, but it was a beautiful time. Really regret taking that non-contrasting brown sweater (b/c I’m always cold at Chili’s) with my brown tee. Your boots were fabulous, by the way.

  • Kim Aguilar

    I just love wonderful trips with brilliant—in every sense of the word—people. So happy for you. And I feel privileged to have received an email from you during your trip! 🙂 Sonic shakes and tots in Belton definitely should be on my agenda in the next few years.

  • Amy L

    Sounds like the perfect kind of vacation!

  • Lia

    I loooooove Gus’ face in the last photo. It looks like he has just seen a camel cross the parking lot.

talk to me

