Where are the black and whites?

When I woke up this morning, it was way past “we’re gonna make it to the bus on time” and yet before the sun had graced the fields. 

When I woke up the second time, Gus Man was breathing in my face asking me if it was snowing outside. It was not. Soon, I said. But not yet. 

When it snows, there be penguins in our yard, Mamma?

*head tilt*

Penguins?

Yah. Penguins. Outside. They comin’?

I don’t think so, Buddy, but I’ll see what I can do.

The Late Train to school is leaving now. Ry’s been dressed an ready for an hour, sitting on the front porch. We are desperately out of tissue and toilet paper thanks to the Never Ending Head Cold Sickness that has plagued this family for 2 weeks. We will go to the grocery store and I will try not to end up on the news.

Y’all pray.

Tomorrow we leave for a Sebeck family wedding in St. Louis and I will try not to end up on the news.

And then next week? 

Next week, we will have toilet paper and tissues and dog food and bread and I will tell you some stories. 

Someone start working on the penguin thing for me, would ya? I’m in way over my head with this kid.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

6 responses to “Where are the black and whites?

  • Lis

    what are the chances you can dress chickens up as penguins? i’ll help!

  • xmomof2

    In Florida there are companies who “flock” your yard with flamingos – maybe there is one who does penguins??? Or you could start a new business :). Basically they come out in the middle of the night and fill your yard with these pink plastic flamingos on sticks (or metal posts that stick in the ground) we did it to our high school as a senior prank – kinda fun and then you could have penguins!!! If they sell plastic penguins for yard decor?

  • Monica

    I think I would adore your little people, and I think they would understand me. 😉

  • Missy

    Chickens dressed as penguins? I’m totally on board. I’ll fly the coop and help dress them. And, if you end up on the news, you totally know which girls will come bail you out.

  • Kim Aguilar

    I am of no help whatsoever on the penguin thing. We do have neighborhoods here, however, that truck in snow for these poor, deprived, sunshine-soaked Arizonan children. We get 2 hours of snowball fights and call it good.

talk to me

