Veteran’s Day

used with permission

I am a grand-daughter, daughter, sister, cousin, niece, best friend, neighbor, and flag-waving stranger on the street to a veteran.

I know calvary men, tankers, Blackhawk pilots, C130 pilots, submarine seamen, MPs, and supply clerks. I know Army rangers, Green Berets, Navy SEALs, and nuclear weapons button-pushers. I know doctors, medics, map makers, war counselors, and chaplains of every creed.

I am a friend of those who ride low, who fly high, and who stand tall in uniform.

All politics aside, all media silenced, I am your biggest fan.

On behalf of an entitled, forgetful, irreverent, but undoubtedly indebted nation,

I say thank you for your service.

Are there any veterans in your family?

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

4 responses to “Veteran’s Day

  • Miss Laura

    Dad (Navy), uncle (Air Force), cousin (Air Force), grandpa (Army Air Force, served stateside during WWII, missing the birth of my mother), and Josh’s grandpa (POW, Battle of the Bulge). Today we are attending the funeral of my father-in-law’s cousin, who was a Navy veteran. We all know someone we can thank today.

  • jen vandlen

    my dad (army), uncle jon and pete (navy), my nieces haley & jamie currently in boot camp (army) and tim’s grandpa, bob (air force). thankful also for their devotion to our country!

  • Kim Aguilar

    My granddad and my dad. And I have several cousins that are currently serving. All heroes.

  • lynnehartke

    My father-in-law fought in World War II. His medals hang in a shadow box in our home. I have a nephew in the navy. I am sharing your post. Simple, heartfelt and profound.

talk to me

