elliot

I found this quote yesterday and had to write it down. Not just pin it or screenshot it, but actually find my pen and a piece of paper and write it down. That, in itself, was its own kind of therapy. That my phone’s camera ombre-d the paper was a happy accident. All-in-all, an excellent 10 seconds in my life.

We are home from 9 nights of tent-camping in Sleeping Bear Dunes. In the past 10 years, I think we’ve missed one year of camping over the 4th of July there. It’s a well-beaten path for this family. Before that, the 3 kiddos were with my folks in Texas. And before that, we were all in Cleveland for my grandmother’s funeral. Including last night, the kids have slept in their own beds twice in the past month. They clapped when we pulled into the driveway last night. Abby yelled, “This is mine’s house?!”

Yes, love. We are home.

I have struggled more than usual lately with my summer writer’s block. Once I get off-track, I get really off-track. My voice and my heart seem to be… wandering. I started keeping this online journal 9 years ago this month (July 2005. OH MY LANTA). I do so very much still need to write. And the structure of a self-imposed twice-a week “schedule” keeps me somewhat focused. It makes me show up. I am continually trying to remember to leave the seeds in the soil and quit worrying about how they’ll grow.

I just… well, I just need to catch my breath.

Thanks for hanging in there with me.

While we’re catching up, let me give you a quick update on our calf situation:

We’ve had 2 of the 3 babies since June 2nd. Abigail had a (gorgeous) boy and Lindy (dear, sweet, Lindy) had a GIRL! We’re just waiting on Safari wt have her calf and then I’ll draw for the winner of the free t-shirt. If you’ve already ordered your t-shirts but haven’t received them yet, they’ll be in the mail this week. I’ll be putting in an order for a second batch of shirts early next week, so let me know if you want to jump on that bandwagon.

See you Thursday, rain or shine.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

2 responses to “

talk to me

