groovin’

on this sleeping beauty I mean, please…could she be any more gorgeous? At her 15-week appointment she was 23.25 inches long (50%) and 10.2 pounds (17%, which is what she’s always been) and pronounced “perfect…and very funny” by our favorite family doctor. We go back in 2 weeks for shots.

on this website: www.recipezaar.com I bet I use this at least 4 times a week. Bought a strange-to-you cut of meat on sale? Type it in and there’s 40 recipes for you. Need a new take on chicken casserole? Can’t remember how to cook asparagus? Wanna make enchiladas in the crockpot? It’s all there. I love it.

on bloglines: www.bloglines.com I’ve mentioned this before, but seriously…this thing has changed my life. I am maybe a teenyweeny bit addicted to the internet and craft sites and the news and your blogs. This jazzy little number (free, by the way) cuts my time in half and makes me a more informed but active housewife because I’m not glued to the computer all day. I just type in the addresses I want to keep tabs on and then once (ok, maybe twice) a day I pull up my list and it shows me all the ones that have new posts. Glorious.

on my summer clothes The post-pregnancy sizing is not going over very well, but thankfully I own a lot of skirts and that’s what I’ll be taking to Texas Texas sweet home Texas this Saturday.

on this granola recipe (found on little birds handmade website over to your left)

8 cups rolled oats (regular old Quaker Oats)
2 to 3 cups of seeds and nuts (shelled sunflower seeds, walnuts, coconut, almonds, etc.)
1 cup maple syrup and/or honey
½ cup canola oil
1 teaspoon vanilla
pinch of salt

mix oats and nuts and seeds
heat oil and syrup…maybe add a little peanut butter if you like…then add vanilla and salt
pour over oat/nut/seed mixture, mix well in a shallow pan
bake @ 350˚ for 30 minutes or until toasty brown, stirring every 10 minutes or so to mix it all up

I just made this yesterday and I love it…simple and crunchy and just barely sweet. I heat it up, add a little milk, and sit down with my Bloglines in the morning while I wait for the little angel to wake up. I’m trying to be better about what I put in my body…sugars and skipping meals and general laziness, not to mention the lack of sunshine and sub-zero temperatures lately, have taken their toll. I want to be fun and cute and healthy again.

on the bunnies that have oh so recently appeared out back looking for some grass underneath the steps Spring is coming! It’s really really coming!

on audiobooks The Boy bought me an iPod for my birthday (December 28th…write it down for next year) and I did the whole download-your-cd-collection thing. But just this week I logged on to the Apple iPod Store and found a whole other world…free classic audiobooks, my pastor’s sermons, and millions of books and music and old movies to buy. I’m all about the books, though. I can “read” Pride and Prejudice while feeding Ry or k-nitting and leave the tv OFF. Love. It. It takes my computer no-lie 4 hours to download a chapter, so if you call and the land-line is busy…that would be why.

on my Little Blonde One’s beautiful new twins, Lauren and Emily Hi, girls!!! I can’t wait to meet you Sunday!

Here’s to a great weekend! I hope you groove a little. Don’t forget to move your clocks ahead!!!

Rylie Joy and I head South this weekend, so we’re gonna take next week off from Blog Land. We promise to come back with lots of pictures and, I’m sure, a few stories. Miss me!

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

20 responses to “groovin’

talk to me

