postcards from Texas • Monday

TEXAS

About 45 minutes into our 19 hours from Michigan to Texas, Abby announced, “ALL DONE.”

She was quickly appeased with a new movie (thank you, Nemo).

About 47 minutes into our 19 hours fro Michigan to Texas, my husband started a conversation about the family budget and I unbuckled my seatbelt and began to open my passenger door.

Maybe that’s extreme.

But I was in a funk for the next hour, to be sure.

Which is why a conversation shift to political nuances and voting priorities was a little better but not making my life awesome. In fact, I think there were hives.

When I suggested we talk about something else, that I needed to be rescued from the funk, that maybe we tackle the SEX topic (to be funny… I was trying to be funny) and he replied,

“What do you want to know about it?”

Well, that’s when I put my earplugs in and started listening to my book.

It was a great book (Someday Someday Maybe). I highly recommend it, for pleasure or conversation avoidance. Either way.

Rylie is 6, almost 7. Please stop growing.

  1. Curt and I are still married.
  2. I still like him very, very much.
  3. I hate talking about hard, serious, possibly conflicting stuff. In confined spaces. With a boy who’s both smarter than me and more logical and more… calm.

Gideon has been running a 100+ fever since we loaded the car on Friday. Rylie is overwhelmed but so very happy, so grown up, so funny here. Abby and my dad danced yesterday and she smiled- laughed, even.

We’re in a good place.

It’s good to be home.

 

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), a bloodhound (Hank), 2 barn cats, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

4 responses to “postcards from Texas • Monday

  • Regina C.

    We were sorry we couldn’t meet up over some tractors and kettle corn, but we’re glad you’re home too, Katie. And, we took the girls to see about some pumpkins so there was no riot.

    • texasnorth

      So glad there were no riots 🙂 There were enough tractors there for the kids to ride on and for Curt and my dad to chat with folks about, so that was all well and good, but mostly everyone was leaving. You didn’t miss much except a hug from me and Abby pushing you out of the way because NOBODY TOUCHES MOM EXCEPT ABBY.

  • Mandi Watts

    “I hate talking about hard, serious, possibly conflicting stuff. In confined spaces. With a boy who’s both smarter than me and more logical and more… calm.”

    Oh, my. Yes. Just yes. I get you, girl! Glad you guys made it to Tejas safely…and still married. I hope it works out to see you this week.

talk to me