Hello!

In a fit of laundry-procrastination Saturday, I decided to move the whole TexasNorth blog from blogger to wordpress.  I know, right?!  Crazy.  Here’s what I need you to do:  change your bookmark or favorites or bloglines to: www.texasnorth.com  That address will always bring you to me.

Everything from the original blog has been moved here, but I’m still working out a few kinks.  A couple videos and the last few comments never transferred over… so I’ll work on that.  I know a bunch of you link to other sites from here, so I’ll bring all those links over, too.  Why the change?  It was needed to help with the future website design, I love the extra control over my comments, and it’s just cleaner over here. I hope you like it.

Hi!  How are ya?  Shall we talk about tutus?  Great.  I’d love to. This weekend, Rylie attend her very first birthday party.  It was required that all guests wear pink.  I figured it was high time to find my crafting mojo again and head to Field’s Fabric.

pink and green tutus

Extreme details:  I bought 5 yards of pink and then a roll (pre-cut to 6 inches wide) of white and a roll of light green.  The pink tutu cost $7.50 plus extra time for cutting and such.  The green and white one cost $9.90 because the rolls are a bit more, but already cut for you.  You also need some elastic- I used 1/2 inch elastic. I think 1″ would work lovely as well. 

green tutuNow, simply take a measurement around the waist, or use their pjs as a guide if your child is peacefully napping when your crafting mood strikes.  Sew the ends together… or knot them, or glue them, or safety pin them.  Whatever floats your boat.  Tutus are made of tulle and will not last forever.  They will be worn as veils and hats and scarves and then pulled to within an inch of their elastic as a cage for a wild beast and then stomped on and thrown in the costume box.  Don’t knock yourself out.

Take your tulle.  If it’s on the 6″ roll, fabulous.  If it’s still in a big sheet, cut it down to long strips of 6″ wide pieces.  Now cut those 6″ wide strips into ribbons twice as long as the length you’d like.  The pink tutu was cut to 24″ (so, it hangs 12″ inches from the waist).  The green tutu has pieces that are 30″ long.

pink tutuNow.  You should have a stack of tulle about 6″ wide and maybe 25″ long.  You should have a waistband of elastic.  Grab yourself a Coke and have a sitdown in front of the Gilmore Girls.  Slide the elastic up onto your leg- just over you knee.  Take one ribbon of tulle, slide it under the elastic, and tie a square or double knot to secure it to the elastic.  Slide that knot to the side, grab another ribbon of tulle, and repeat until all your pieces are gone.  It doesn’t matter how you make your knots… just make them the same way every time.  It’ll look fabulous, I promise.  

And there you have it.  Just a bunch of knots, Folks.  These are all over the web, all over craft fairs, all over everywhere.  It’s not a new idea.  But, it IS a quick and satisfying project for an hour.  Have fun 🙂  And, of course I’ll make you one if you just can’t handle the tulle.  I’d be happy to.  Just yell.

See you Thursday.  Right here.  Because this is where I live now.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), a bloodhound (Hank), 2 barn cats, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

18 responses to “Hello!

  • Jim

    Isn’t this interesting. Someday I am going to have to ask for a little “how to”.

  • Jami

    Matt and Margo blog on wordpress, and they love it! Maybe, after I finish painting, I’ll make the switch too.

    AND HANNAH is wearing her tutu right now; she LOVES it! Thank-you!! Lydia asked if she could wear hers to school…mom said no, and she thinks I’m mean.

    You should see my child’s hair this morning…her fancy curls are all in a mess and there is pink everywhere!

    Have a fabulous day!

  • eddy

    Well, well, well. Moving up in the blogging world, aren’t we? Welcome to the ease of WordPress.

  • jtp

    LOVE the tutu idea…well baby William would look funny in one, but I’m sure he’ll have lots of girlfriends so I will make this for them…or for me. I will look lovely making french onion soup in a tutu don’t you think????

    LOVE the new site too 🙂

  • Cathy

    Nice web page! The tutu is darling!

  • Mandi

    The tutu is very cute. I would like to see a picture of Riley wearing it, though!

  • Jami

    I think you may have to update your url…

    If you just type in texasnorth.com it takes you back to your old blog
    But if you type in texasnorth.wordpress.com..you get here! 🙂

  • Jami

    I’m duh…unless you want people to go to your old blog…they’ll always find you….sorry my bad.

  • texasnorth

    Jame… it’s taking it a bit to kick in. Can I just say that godaddy.com is possibly the worst website of all time? So confusing. But, the url has been changed and will update sometime today. Promise.

  • Amy Dantzler

    love it–the tutu and the blog,esp the header–

    because today it’s yucky weather even way down here in texas proper. so the thought of apple pie a la blue bell is even more of a pick me up than usual.

    and yay. i have all the ingredients in my (very own) kitchen to make it! and we have some vanilla bb left over from si’s birthday on saturday! so i shall be using that wonderful phrase tonight to surprise the boys at my house! thanks for the idea =)

  • Ellie

    What’s all this.?!?! “Apple pie, anyone?”. Well, heck yes!! I love making tutus so much that I once made a GINORMOUS orange one for myself. The oldest Cabin girl was about 4 and she thought it rocked that mom wore a big tutu when she wore her little pink one.

  • MamaM

    Those are the cutest tutus. I need to see Ry in her tutu and a pair of dancin’ shoes. What a clever idea!

  • Becky Swann

    Wow cool new layout how long did it take to transfer it all?
    Love the tutus!

  • Julie

    As I said on facebook. I am so impressed with your tutu for Rylie and I hope to make one sometime myself for Annabelle. She likes them but only when it is her idea ALONE to wear it.

    I spent Saturday with a friend (at the homeschool conference) and somehow we got on the subject of chickens. I told her all about your blog. She wanted the link so I am sure you a have a brand new fan now!

    My mom and sister love your blog too.

  • Jessica Carr

    how in the world did I miss this post!! I love it! the tutu’s are to stinkin cute!!

  • Lou Kuhn

    Katie, I read about your tutu making on your Facebook and was inspired to make one. Not for a child but for myself. I love my tutu! There are about 20 of us that have made them now and we are going to be wearing them during the Capitol 10,000 tomorrow. That is a 10K race in Austin where many people dress up in funny costumes. I will post a picture on my Facebook of all of us in our tutus. Thanks for being my inspiration.

talk to me