home

:: housekeeping ::

•  The TexasNorth hoodies are making their way across county and country.  Except when I forget.  Sorry, Liz. Let me know when you receive yours, ok?  I need that 4% of sanity back.  I hate it when special things are in the mail… somewhere… out there.  AND, if you’ll take a photo of you and your new BFF hoodie in a fun place, I’ll put you up on the blog.  If you’re sad you missed out we DO have a few extras.  Send me a message and we’ll see if we have your size in the version (heads or tails) that you want.  If you’re sad about your version… if the size is just totally wrong or the hardcore headshot is just too serious for you or the tails version is making you walk lopsided, we can switch you out.  Just give me a yell.  We’re all about happy people here at TexasNorth.

• I spruced up the comment section a bit.  You can now reply directly to another person’s comment if ya like.  Fun! [insert me clapping here]

:: home ::

1

We moved to Montcalm Avenue in October of 2006.  Rylie was born a month later.  While the structure is original (an old migrant house), we gutted the entire thing and basically started from scratch.  When we finally spent our first night (the day before the very first hayride) the outside siding was 90% finished, the inside had one coat of paint, the basement was unfinished, and drywall patches were numerous.

2

Three years later, we have two mortise and tenon porches (which will receive metal roofs in Spring).  We have red metal siding.  Only the bathroom needs it’s 2nd coat of paint.  The basement is 50% finished.  There is a wood stove that provides 80% of our heat in the winter.  We have a garden, we have 5 acres of tension fencing, we have 35 chickens, and we have 8 longhorn cattle with 4 calves on the way. 

34

Home for us is 900 square feet.  It is 2 bedrooms with another in progress.  It’s warm in the winter and cool in the summer… and it has the best view anywhere around.  Home is quiet and calm (when the cows aren’t loose and the chickens aren’t battling for bread).  Home is a place where every corner hides some personal achievement.  I stained those floor boards.  Rylie found a screwdriver and that’s why there are pockmarks in the wall.  Curt… well, Curt did everything.  Electrical, heavy lifting, painting… everything.

5

I like our home.  I like that this is a place that will continue to grow with us over the years.  I am so grateful for all the hands that have helped along the way.  I love that people feel comfortable in our little, dusty home.

I am thankful for our home.

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

9 responses to “home

  • Chris

    I got mine! But you already know that. 🙂 So nice to hear about your lovely home. I especially liked the part about Ry’s screwdriver pockmarks… I laughed aloud. Have a wonderful week!

  • Miss Laura

    Love the “before” pictures. Glad that Rylie is making her own stylistic contributions to the household 🙂

    Perhaps you are also thankful for a husband who does yard work without his shirt?

  • Jtp

    handy husbands are #1

  • priscilla esser

    I love my hoodie! Now if it would just stay chilly.
    But as soon as it gets clod again, I will send you a picture lickety split!

  • Susannah

    Isn’t it amazing how much you’ve accomplished in three short years? And isn’t the building of a home- the physical stuff and the people stuff- one of the most gratifying things? We moved to our wee farm almost three years ago too, and we have “the list” on the fridge of things to accomplish: plant asparagus, insulate the chicken coop, fencing, fencing, fencing etc. Sometimes, we just stand in front of the fridge and stare at the list because it feels SOOO good to see how far we’ve come.

  • Bec

    Mine came! My Mom said “there’s a package at your door addressed to Bec – people actually send you actual mail addressed to Bec and not Rebecca?”

    Yup.

    I meant to take the hoodie to Charlotte yesterday and wrap Emerson up in and take her picture and I forgot. Dang.

  • annie

    i love your home and your heart.
    ok, i want a hoodie, we ad discussed this one night, but i really do want one. whatever style in a small.

  • Chris

    Guess what? I have a blog again! I am hoping to actually keep up with it this time. I’m quite excited.

    On another note: a very good friend and I are planning to have our own two-person book club this summer, as we’ll be employed together. We’ve decided to give ourselves two weeks per book, and so we can do about 6 books. We have picked out 6 (we both feel behind on “classics”), but I wanted to know if you had any strong thoughts about a book you might recommend, since you’re a reader too! He’s a history major who focuses on post-WWII America… and what I am is irrelevant since I pretty much am willing to try reading anything! 🙂

    So, if you have any thoughts, let me know!

talk to me

