yums

Oh, man… are you gonna lu-huv me or WHAT after today!  Somehow, in the dead of winter, while we were chili-ed and stew-ed and casserole-d OUT, I stumbled across some major winners and it’s only fair to share. You never know who’s life you’ll change with a good avocado sauce.

Here you go. Nothing fancy, nothing skilled, nothing photoshopped. In fact, no photos at all… I’m a terrible food photographer. Just the basics, Folks! Tried and true.

cilantro-lime-avocado sauce

[from HERE]

2 T butter

2 T flour

2 cups chicken broth

3/4 cup sour cream

1/2 t. cumin

1/2 t. salt

1/2 t. garlic powder

1/4 t. pepper

1/2 cup chopped cilantro

2 avocados

1 lime, juiced

  • Melt the butter and then whisk in the flour.  Let this thicken for a couple minutes while you stir, and then add in the chicken broth.
  • Bring broth, butter, and flour to a bubbly simmer and let it simmer for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally while you blend the remaining ingredients (sour cream, spices, cilantro, avocados, and lime juice) in a blender.
  • Carefully add the butter/flour/broth mixture to the blender and purée.  Be sure to pulse and then let the steam out of the top, pulse again, and let it breathe. The heat will need somewhere to go, so be mindful.

That’s your sauce. Put it in your enchiladas with chicken and cheese, put it on top of your enchiladas, use it with quesadillas, dip tortilla chips in it, use it as a dressing on your turkey wrap or scrambled egg soft taco.  I did all of these things. I ate the sauce every day for a week- often twice in one day. It’s cool and creamy and very, very happy.

peanut sauce

[I have no clue where I found this, but it’s been taped to the inside of my cabinet for more than 2 months now and I’ve used it A LOT.]

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup peanut butter

1/4 cup soy sauce

3 T rice vinegar

1/2 T chili-garlic sauce

  • whisk all ingredients together and add it to about 12oz. of cooked noodles
  • add 1/2 cup onion, 1 cup carrot slices, 2 cups extra veggies, 3 T fresh garlic, and 1/2 t. ground ginger for a whole stir fry meal

Big winner with the kids. BIG. WINNER. I had them at “PEANUT BUTTER NOODLES.”

mustard chicken

[from HERE]

1.5 to 2# boneless, skinless, trimmed chicken thighs

1/2 cup Dijon mustard (I used spicy brown mustard… still lovely)

1/4 cup pure maple syrup (truly)

1 tbsp. rice wine vinegar

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. ground black pepper

1 tbsp. cornstarch or flour

  • Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Line a 8×8″ pan with 2 layers of tin foil
  • In small bowl, whisk together mustard, maple syrup, rice wine vinegar, salt and pepper.
  • Place the chicken thighs in the foil layered pan then pour the mixture on top of it. Turn the chicken around in the sauce to coat everything well.
  • Bake, uncovered, for 40 minutes. [If you are using a dryer cut of meat- chicken breasts, for example- you can cut the time by about 10 minutes but check to be sure the meat is done and the juices run clear.]
  • Remove from oven and let chicken sit for 5 minutes then transfer to a plate. Do NOT discard the liquid- we’re going to use it to make a quick sauce.
  • Immediately after removing the chicken, whisk in the 1 tbsp. of cornstarch or flour into the liquid in the pan. You’ll create a nice, thick sauce to drizzle over your chicken. Do this immediately because the liquid needs to be hot in order for it to thicken properly. If it’s still not thickening after mixing in 1T, you can add a little more.

I served this over rice and happily ate leftovers all week. Even Gus Man ate this one, which is bold praise since his mantra lately is, “No Like It” if it looks like anything other than a sammich.

Carry on, Friends!

I’m in the processing of wrapping and mailing out your TXN sweatshirts. It’s taking longer than I hoped to get them out the door. I completely overestimated my ability to work with tape while having a 15-month old, a 3-year old, and a 6-year old monitor my every step.  I’ve gone through 6 rolls of tape. If you’re having 2nd thoughts about not ordering OR need to request a different size for whatever reason, these are the extras I have:

  • (1) L green hoody ($20)
  • (1) XL green hoody ($20)
  • (1) 2XL green hoody ($25)
  • (1) L grey crewneck ($29)
  • (1) L green crewneck ($31)
About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

9 responses to “yums

  • Mandi Watts

    You and I must be stalking the same recipes on Pinterest! I have the cilantro-lime chicken queued up for sometime soon. I’m glad to have an endorsement from someone I actually know! Can’t wait! I’ll put the others on my list, as well. Thanks for sharing. What to make for dinner is always a bit of a struggle, so it’s good to have some tried-and-true (and easy!) recipes to draw on.

  • Mark Muller

    Really, really want a 2XL hoody. How much would postage be to the Isle of Man (Britain)? Also, how do I pay – PayPal? Could you email me at mark@mullerunlimited.com?
    Thanks!
    PS You can pop a side of that Longhorn beef of yours in the package as well! 😉

  • Tricia

    The mustard chicken is AWESOME. Bob and I have gobbled that one up a couple times this past month. Can’t wait to try the avocado sauce… guess we’re having enchiladas for dinner! 🙂

  • Missy

    Advocado sauce, here I come! And that mustard chicken looks fantastic! Underestimating our ability to do multiple things at once is a requirement for motherhood. 😉

  • MC

    You’re the best- that avocado sauce is exactly what I’ve been searching for!! I’m drooling a little bit right now over all of this. ps, I paid for my sweatshirt finally! aaak- I’m sorry it took me for.ever.

  • Margie

    I’m totally into this post. Went digging around your recipes last week for tuna casserole. Thanks for sharing – they give us delicious VARIETY. Keep ’em comin’.

  • Margie

    And I’m getting your $$$ in the mail today, btw. I need the hoodie!

talk to me

