words words words

Friends,
A few things for August have been put up over at etsy. The photos are terrible as our camera begins a rapid decline to electronic death. There will be more bags popping up this week as I continue to get my act together and finish unpacking. MmmmHmmm. Still not done unpacking.
Love,
Me.

And so we continue.

What I did on my summer vacation:
2. I read. A lot.

books read in July [and my ratings]
A River Runs Through It (again) [*****]
The Secret Life of Bees (again) [*****]
Eat, Pray, Love [*****]
The Kite Runner [****************]
To Train Up a Child [**** once I got past my pride]
Created to be His Help Meet [**** again, the pride thing]
Letters from a Skeptic [****]
Flabbergasted [**.5]
A Delirious Summer [***.5]
Lost in Rooville [***.5]
The Wonder Spot [***]
The Blue Shoe [**] I don’t know why, but this book bugged me]
David Copperfield [*****]
half of To Have and Have Not (it’s hard to share a book with someone) [**** but not finished]

I forgot how difficult Hemingway is. Either he’s a genius or this book- thin, I might add- was kickin’ my educated bootie when I left it in Great Falls. Sheesh.

Now, don’t be mad at the number of books I read. I had no friends as a child. As a result, I read extremely fast and consider all the characters I ‘meet’ long lost friends. This should explain much about me and my imagination.

And, this just in:
My father reports that my brother received his orders for their next assignment. We all assumed it would be Santa Barbara, sunny California…but as it turns out, it’s Colorado Springs, snowy Colorado. This thrills me to no end. They will be there for 4 years starting this November 1st…which means plenty of skiing, camping, and side trips (hint hint) for the Mulder family of TexasNorth!

Off to make zucchini bread…

About texasnorth

TexasNorth is a little farm in Western Michigan. It's home to 5 chickens, 25 longhorn cattle, a coonhound (Banjo), 1 barn cat, a husband, and 3 ridiculously funny children. The mom of this zoo has been known to mow the lawn in a skirt and roast marshmallows after dark. View all posts by texasnorth

20 responses to “words words words

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    UHHHHH

    HOOOOOOO

    HOOOOOOOOOO

    I do not know how to control my excitement. Colorado Springs is not far AT ALL from us maybe 4 or 5 hours….(isnt it funny that that seems close)!!!

  • Jessica, Myron and Rylie

    P.S. We must put these two in a room together VERY SOON, and simply watch them. Rylie Jayne luhuves to eat rocks and anything really!

  • cortneytree

    Ooooh, zucchini bread….

    Well, I *am* going to the store…Ok, sold, I’m making zucchini bread TONIGHT.

  • the bantam menace

    you explained your fast-book-readerness and I nearly shot my hand up (here at beaners no less) and shouted, me too!

    ahh, I’m not alone in this world. just one more reason to like you 🙂 hehhehee

  • OurMrsMikrut

    I’m shooting up my hand with a “me too!” over the camera issue.

    And I don’t know if anyone told you, but that’s not good for Rylie’s teeth…

  • mr. chris

    yay! for you katie lu. i hope you liked the “flabbergasted trilogy”

  • KatieKate

    You think the rocks are bad?
    *frantically searching through all the parenting websites*
    I don’t see anything here about rocks!!!

  • KatieKate

    oh and Mister Chris (what a fine young man you are)…I did enjoy the trilogy. I have to say- I enjoyed the 2nd and 3rd book much more than the 1st…it’s like he figured out his “style” by then or something. Good light summer reading.

  • sunday

    so out of those books what do you recommend? i have read several of them, but i want to hear what you say. you know i loved to do summer reading when i was a kid. i was always at the library and i won prizes for going over

  • sunday

    oh yeah i got the cutest outfit in the mail from a friend and i totally think you could make it. i will get pictures to you. it is so cute!

  • OurMrsMikrut

    Good to hear your commentary on the latter two “Flabbergasted” books. I shall be hitting up the Kent District Library, as the Mikrut clan has already borrowed far too many of the Dornans’ media collection with a very poor return rate.

    The reason you haven’t found anything about the rocks is because I haven’t written my parenting book yet. Watch out.

  • miss christine

    Kite Runner is that amazing, is it? Have you read A Thousand Splendid Suns? I thought that looked good as well… I have actually not read either of them, but if you would recommend it, it can go on my ‘to read’ list. Which continues to grow but I only get to cross things off in the summer, seeing as how I have no time of my own during school….!

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    in TOTAL agreement with the blue shoe. it was one of our book club choices a few years back. i just kept feeling like something big/profoud/metaphoric was going to happen, and it just didn’t. book club seemed to like it, however, so i kept my opinions to myself, confused why i had wasted my time in reading it and wondering if i had somehow missed the bigger picture. also in agreement on kite runner and getting ready to read a thousand splendid suns, if i can ever finish confederacy of dunces. really, 7 years is TOO long to read a book!

    i just made a slip cover for gracen’s crib bumper, as i had grown tired of the other. i just had to tell someone that might appreciate my efforts…

  • diane

    kate. i got home last night at 9 p.m. by 9:30 i was unpacked. by 11 p.m. my laundry was done.

    today i just spent 2 hours getting groceries at Meijer. i was overwhelmed by options.

    i have Kenyan Fabric for you. when shall we meet?

    p.s. i read about 12 books this summer too. good times.

  • KatieKate

    Shanna is a sew-er
    Shanna is a sew-er
    nyah nanny boo boo!!!
    Good job, woman.
    I wrote that song for you.

    Diane! Welcome home, friend!
    We can meet anytime but tomorrow.

  • Lia

    The Rocky Mountains? Denver Broncos? John Denver?

    Come visit.. I will leave the light on.

  • Shanna, Adam and Gracen

    song in honor of self has motivated me to blog a picture of mad sewing skills. mucho gracias amigita!

  • mr. chris

    hey kate, just in case you don’t check out my blog, i just finished a book called Crashing Through by robert kurson. it’s a true story about a man blind since age 3 who is able to get his sight back. unbelievably interesting.

  • ebadrina

    Kate,

    We just got back from Scotland and there was one site we KNEW you would love. On the island of Skye a mile off the barely beaten path was a little house totally devoted to k-nitting and organically dyed wool and silk yarn. Sister in law is a k-nitter and she was in hog heaven, as you would have been. We thought of you and took some pictures, because we didn’t think it was wise to stuff our bags with 700g of yarn in a color that you wouldn’t like. How do I send you pics? We also have the address in case you get really brave.

  • KatieKate

    oh eddy.
    You are indeed a friend of mine. I just tried to email you, but I must have an old one, you mover and shaker you. Send away:

    katiemulderATgmailDOTcom

    But you’ll have to compress because I have dial up. YAY FOR DIAL UP!

talk to me

